Before the Beginning; the Examination Unit and the Joint Discrimination Unit

The Examination Unit (XU) was Canada's first civilian office that was solely dedicated to the encryption and decryption of communications signals. Until then, signals intelligence (SIGINT) was entirely within the purview of the military. The impetus for the creation of a civilian cryptolologic unit came from two different directions concurrently.

At the beginning of the Second World War, Canadian armed forces were already collecting raw ciphered signals from enemy military and foreign mission communications traffic. Canadian Military intercepts of enemy SIGINT were used mostly to locate enemy positions and movements based on meta-data, and sent to Britain and the USA.

With the Nazi occupation of France, Canada was encouraged by the Allies to put together a civilian office that would decrypt signals traffic content, such as messages from the Vichy Government and other military and diplomatic communications. On occasion, depending on the type of communications, some content could be analysed by the Military Discrimination Units, but it was the civilian XU that would regularly decipher content and disseminate intelligence to Canadian Foreign Affairs as well as to the Allies.

By 1945, the disparate SIGINT collection units of the Navy, Army and Air Force were joined together in the Joint Discrimination Unit (JDU) in the same building as the XU, where by the end of the war, the two Units, Military and Civilian, were able to coordinate signals intelligence collection and analysis and dissemination so efficiently that their success was a primary justification for the establishment of a peacetime Canadian Cryptologic Agency which would be the CBNRC.

Testimony to the value of this tiny unit's contribution to the Allied War effort is demonstrated in the purpose statement of the Secret Order in Council that created the peacetime cryptologic service, the CBNRC in August 1946-today's CSE. Specifically, the creation of a peacetime civilian organization was recommended in order to allow 179 individuals with highly developed and virtually irreplaceable skills and expertise to continue their work; almost all of whom had been XU and JDU employees.

Avant le commencement : la Sous-section de l’examen et la Joint Discrimination Unit

La Sous-section de l’examen (XU) a été le premier bureau constitué de civils ne s’occupant que du cryptage et du décryptage des signaux de communications. Jusqu’alors, la collecte renseignement électromagnétique (SIGINT) relevait entièrement de l’Armée. Le coup d’envoi de la création d’une unité civile de décryptage fut donné simultanément par deux entités distinctes.

Au début de la Seconde Guerre mondiale, les Forces armées canadiennes interceptaient déjà des signaux cryptés bruts provenant du trafic de communications d’armées et de missions étrangères ennemies. Le SIGINT intercepté par les Forces canadiennes servait principalement à localiser l’ennemi en fonction de métadonnées envoyées par la suite aux services de renseignement du Royaume-Uni et des États-Unis.

Lorsque la France fut envahie par les nazis, le Canada se vit encouragé par les Alliés à mettre sur pied un bureau civil responsable d’intercepter et de décrypter les signaux contenant des communications provenant du gouvernement de Vichy ainsi que d’autres communications militaires et diplomatiques. Il arrivait parfois, en fonction du type de communications interceptées, que ce soit le personnel militaire qui en analyse le contenu, mais la plupart du temps, c’était le personnel civil de la XU qui déchiffrait le contenu et qui diffusait le renseignement au ministère canadien des Affaires étrangères et aux Alliés.

En 1945, les différentes sous-sections de collecte de SIGINT de la Marine, de l’Armée et des Forces aériennes se sont réunies pour former la Joint Discrimination Unit (JDU), située dans le même édifice que la XU. À la fin de la guerre, le volet militaire et le volet civil ont coordonné leurs efforts de collecte, d’analyse et de diffusion de SIGINT avec une efficacité remarquable. C’est cette réussite qui a permis de justifier la fondation d’un organisme de cryptologie canadien en temps de paix : la Direction des télécommunications du Conseil national de recherches (DTCNR).

La modeste Sous-section de l’examen a énormément contribué à l’effort de guerre, comme en témoigne le décret adopté en secret qui a vu naître, en août 1946, la DTCNR… qui allait devenir, un jour, le CST. La création de la DTCNR a été recommandée afin de permettre à 179 personnes aux talents et à l’expertise sans pareils, provenant de la XU et de la JDU, de poursuivre leur travail.