Tutte Institute for Mathematics and Computing

Tutte Institute
 

TIMC News

August 19-23, 2019: Summer School on Data Science Tools and Techniques for Modelling Complex Networks

Dr. Francois Théberge, along with co-presenters Dr. Pawel Pralat, Dr. Bogumil Kaminski and Dr. Przemyslaw Szufel are presenting a week-long summer school on representing and analyzing relational data at the Fields Institute for Research in Mathematical Sciences. In a relational data set, an observation involves two or more entities. Such data sets are often modeled via graphs or hypergraphs. A graph is a collection of vertices representing the entities, connected via edges, each of which represents a relationship between two vertices. Hypergraphs are used to model relations involving an arbitrary number of entities. Exploratory data analysis over relational data can be challenging. Slicing or sampling a relational data set tends to destroy its structure and not much can be learned from it. The missing or noisy data problem is also more problematic with relational data. For example, the addition or removal of an edge in a graph can considerably change properties such as the diameter.

The course will explore various theoretical and practical aspects of relational data representation and mining. The format of the course will be a mix of lectures and demonstrations of various techniques over relational datasets using Python, Julia and Jupyter Notebooks.

View all news

 

About the TIMC

The Tutte Institute for Mathematics and Computing (TIMC) is a government research institute focused on research in fundamental mathematics and computer science. Our members work on highly sophisticated problems and tackle advanced mathematical challenges of importance to the Government of Canada and for the benefit of the nation.

 

History of the TIMC

The TIMC was opened in 2011 as a special research institute that is supported and funded by the Communications Security Establishment (CSE). Located just east of downtown Ottawa, Canada, our specialized work space is housed within CSE’s world-class, LEED Gold facility.

The TIMC is named after Dr. William T. Tutte, a British-born Canadian codebreaker and mathematician, credited with breaking the Lorenz cipher used by the German High command during World War II. Dr. Tutte’s foundational work in graph theory and matroid theory is world-renowned.

 

Research

The TIMC is focused on four key research areas: cryptography, cyber security, data science, and quantum computing. We draw upon many mathematical and computational fields, including Algebra, Algebraic Geometry, Combinatorics, Data Science, Topology, Number Theory, and Quantum Computing. Our researchers are leaders in their fields and work in a collaborative fashion on interesting challenges found only within the TIMC.

TIMC researchers benefit from access to some of the fastest computers in the country, as well as cutting-edge technology that is unmatched in Canada. Our work supports CSE’s mission to provide and protect information of national interest.

 

Opportunities

The TIMC offers a range of opportunities for collaboration and support of mathematics and computer science in Canada. Mathematicians, Data Scientists and Computer Scientists at Canadian universities, or those at international institutions holding Canadian citizenship, can make either short-term or long-term working visits to the TIMC.

The TIMC employs full-time mathematicians and computer scientists holding PhDs in a variety of fields. Their numbers are supplemented by long and short-term academic contractors. We count many distinguished Canadian mathematicians, from a number of Canadian universities, as our current collaborators and alumni.

Canadian academics may work at the TIMC on short-term contracts for a minimum of two weeks over the course of a year. These working visits are arranged to accommodate the visiting researcher’s schedule, and can be spread throughout the year. Visiting researchers work in a collaborative environment on challenging problems, engaging with TIMC staff, other academic contractors and members of partner research institutes. Longer term contracts are also available.

 

Collaboration and Partnerships

Collaboration and partnership is integral to the work of the TIMC. Our partners include universities across Canada, as well as various classified and government research institutes:

The TIMC is continually working to strengthen and develop partnerships with research institutes, governmental agencies, industry and universities.

 

FAQ

The Tutte Institute for Mathematics and Computing (TIMC) is a government research institute focused on research in fundamental mathematics and computer science. We recognize that you may have more specific questions about the Institute, the research and the facility.

You can learn more in our frequently asked questions page. If we haven’t answered your questions, please feel free to contact us directly at tutte.info@cse-cst.gc.ca.

Institut Tutte pour les mathématiques et le calcul

Institut Tutte
 

Dernières nouvelles de l'ITMC

Du 19 au 23 août 2019  Cours d’été sur les outils et les techniques en science des données pour la modélisation de réseaux complexes.

Le Dr François Théberge et ses co-conférenciers, le Dr Pawel Pralat, le Dr Bogumil Kaminski et le Dr Przemyslaw Szufel, dirigent un cours d’été d’une semaine sur la représentation et l’analyse de données relationnelles à la Fields Institute for Research in Mathematical Sciences. Dans un ensemble de données relationnelles, une observation porte sur deux entités ou plus. Ce type de données est souvent modélisé au moyen de graphes ou d’hypergraphes. Un graphe est une collection de sommets qui sont connectés par des arêtes et qui représentent les entités. Chacune de ces arêtes représente une relation entre deux sommets. Les hypergraphes sont utilisés pour modéliser des relations impliquant un nombre arbitraire d’entités. Appliquée aux données relationnelles, l’analyse exploratoire de données peut s’avérer difficile. Le découpage ou l’échantillonnage d’un ensemble de données relationnelles a généralement pour effet d’en détruire la structure. Par conséquent, il est difficile d’en tirer de l’information utile. De plus, le problème lié aux données manquantes ou parasites constitue également une difficulté considérable dans le cas des données relationnelles. Par exemple, l’ajout ou le retrait de l’une des arêtes d’un graphe peut engendrer une importante modification des propriétés, notamment le diamètre.

Le cours est l’occasion d’explorer divers aspects théoriques et pratiques de la représentation et du forage de données relationnelles. En l’occurrence, il propose des exposés et des démonstrations portant sur diverses techniques appliquées aux ensembles de données relationnelles au moyen de Python, de Julia et de Jupyter Notebooks.

Voir toutes les nouvelles

 

À propos de l’ITMC

L’Institut Tutte pour les mathématiques et le calcul (ITMC) est un établissement de recherche gouvernemental axé sur les mathématiques fondamentales et l’informatique. Les membres de l’Institut travaillent à résoudre des problèmes hautement sophistiqués et s’attaquent à des défis mathématiques de taille qui sont importants pour le gouvernement du Canada et qui auront des retombées favorables pour le pays.

 

Historique de l’ITMC

L’ITMC a ouvert ses portes en 2011 à titre d’institut de recherche spécialisé et est appuyé et financé par le Centre de la sécurité des télécommunications (CST). Situé tout juste à l’est du centre-ville d’Ottawa, au Canada, l’espace de travail spécialisé de l’ITMC est hébergé dans l’installation de pointe du CST certifiée LEED « Or ».

L’ITMC porte le nom de William T. Tutte (Ph. D.), un mathématicien et décrypteur canadien né en Angleterre qui a été reconnu pour avoir décrypté le chiffre Lorez utilisé par le haut commandement allemand lors de la Deuxième Guerre mondiale. Son travail fondamental sur la théorie des graphes et la théorie des matroïdes jouit d’une réputation internationale.

 

Recherche

L’ITMC se concentre sur quatre domaines de recherche clés : la cryptographie, la cybersécurité, la science des données et l’informatique quantique. Il met à profit de nombreuses disciplines en mathématiques et en calcul, dont l’algèbre, la géométrie algébrique, la combinatoire, la science des données, la topologie, la théorie des nombres et l’informatique quantique. Ses chercheurs sont des chefs de file dans leur domaine et travaillent en collaboration pour relever des défis stimulants qu’on ne trouve qu’à l’ITMC.

Les chercheurs de l’ITMC ont à leur disposition certains des ordinateurs les plus rapides du pays et des technologies de pointe introuvables ailleurs au Canada. Leur travail contribue à la mission du CST qui consiste à fournir de l’information d’intérêt national et à la protéger.

 

Occasions

L’ITMC offre une multitude d’occasions de collaboration et appuie les mathématiques et l’informatique au Canada. Les mathématiciens, les scientifiques des données et les informaticiens des universités canadiennes ou d’institutions internationales qui détiennent une citoyenneté canadienne peuvent faire des visites de travail de courte ou de longue durée à l’ITMC.

L’ITMC emploie des mathématiciens et des informaticiens à temps plein, qui détiennent des doctorats dans divers domaines. Pour les appuyer, l’ITMC embauche des entrepreneurs du milieu universitaire pour de courtes et de longues périodes. De nombreux mathématiciens canadiens distingués, provenant des diverses universités du pays, figurent parmi les collaborateurs actuels et anciens de l’Institut.

Les universitaires canadiens peuvent travailler à forfait à l’ITMC pour de courtes périodes d’au moins deux semaines par année. Ces visites de travail sont prévues en tenant compte de l’horaire des chercheurs invités et peuvent être étalées tout au long de l’année. Les chercheurs invités travaillent dans un milieu de collaboration à résoudre des problèmes complexes. Ils échangent avec le personnel de l’ITMC, d’autres entrepreneurs du milieu universitaire et des membres des instituts de recherche partenaires. Des contrats de plus longue durée sont aussi offerts.

 

Collaboration et partenariats

La collaboration et les partenariats sont essentiels au travail de l’ITMC. L’ITMC travaille en collaboration avec des universités de l’ensemble du Canada ainsi que différents instituts de recherche gouvernementaux et classifiés :

L’ITMC s’efforce continuellement de renforcer et de développer ses partenariats avec les instituts de recherche, les organismes gouvernementaux, le secteur privé et les universités.

 

Foire aux questions

L’Institut Tutte pour les mathématiques et le calcul (ITMC) est un établissement de recherche gouvernemental axé sur les mathématiques fondamentales et l’informatique. Il est possible que vous ayez des questions précises sur l’Institut, ses travaux de recherche et son installation.

Pour en savoir plus, consultez notre foire aux questions. Si vous n’y trouvez pas de réponses à vos questions, n’hésitez pas à communiquer directement avec nous à tutte.info@cse-cst.gc.ca.