Info Source

Sources of Federal Government and Employee Information

Communications Security Establishment (CSE)

Table of Contents

General Information

Introduction

Info Source: Sources of Federal Government and Employee Information provides information about the functions, programs, activities and related information holdings of government institutions subject to the Access to Information Act and the Privacy Act. It provides individuals and employees of the government (current and former) with relevant information to access personal information about themselves held by government institutions subject to the Privacy Act and to exercise their rights under the Privacy Act.

The Introduction and an index of institutions subject to the Access to Information Act and the Privacy Act are available centrally.

The Access to Information Act and the Privacy Act assign overall responsibility to the President of Treasury Board (as the designated Minister) for the government-wide administration of the legislation.

Background

The Communications Security Establishment reports to Parliament through the Minister of National Defence.

Read about CSE, including its History, Legislation, and Accountabilities.

Responsibilities

Read about CSE’s mandate and responsibilities.

Institutional Functions, Programs and Activities

Signals Intelligence

As mandated by section 273.64 of the National Defence Act, the Signals Intelligence program provides foreign intelligence that addresses the Government of Canada’s vital interests in defence, security and international affairs through the collection, processing, analysis and reporting of intelligence. It also provides technical and operational assistance to federal law enforcement and security agencies.

Intelligence - Class of Record

Description: Includes records/information resources related to acquiring and using information from the global information infrastructure in accordance with CSE’s lawful mandate, to provide foreign intelligence, concerning foreign individuals, states, organizations or terrorist groups, which has implications for Canada’s international affairs, defence or security (part a of CSE’s mandate).
Includes records/information resources related to requests for the provision of technical and operational assistance to federal law enforcement and security agencies (part c of CSE’s mandate).
Document Types: Intelligence requirements, briefings, studies, publications, plans, analyses, reports, technical documentation, policies, instructions, memoranda of understanding, information obtained from public sources, strategies, training materials, presentations, standards
Record Number: CSE MIS 080

Communications Security Establishment (CSE) - Foreign Intelligence Files CSE PPU 040 - Personal Information Bank

Description: This bank contains personal information relating to sensitive aspects of Canada's international relations, security and defence.
Note: This bank is designated by the Governor-in Council as an exempt bank pursuant to section 18(1) and based on section 21 of the Privacy Act. This PIB was transferred from the Department of National Defence.
Class of Individuals: This bank applies to the general public.
Purpose: The purpose of this bank is to advise the government regarding international affairs, security and defence.
Consistent Uses: There are no other consistent uses.
Retention and Disposal Standards: Information in this bank is held indefinitely.
RDA Number: 98/005
Related Record Number: CSE MIS 080
TBS Registration: 20130231
Bank Number: CSE PPU 040

Information Technology Security

The Information Technology Security Program provides advice, guidance and services to help ensure the protection of electronic information and information systems of importance to the Government of Canada, as mandated by section 273.64 (1)(b) of the National Defence Act and in accordance with the Policy on Government Security.

Cyber Defence - Class of Record

Description: Cyber Defence includes records/information related to cyber defence activities that strengthen the ability to prevent and reduce the probability of successful cyber intrusions. The records/information are used in the provision of cyber defence activities, monitor government networks to detect potential cyber threats and to analyze, evaluate, mitigate and defend against cyber activities that threaten or potentially threaten the Government of Canada (GC) systems and networks and systems of importance to the GC.
Document Types: Document types include threat analysis and reporting vehicles and related documentation. For example, records include threat analysis and mitigation advice, policies, briefings, reports, strategies and technical documentation.
Record Number: CSE 002

Communications Security Establishment (CSE) - Cyber Defence, CSE PPU 007 - Personal Information Bank

Description: This bank relates to the personal information that may be collected by CSE during its assessment activities, in support of information infrastructures of importance to the Government of Canada to help them identify, isolate or prevent harm to their computer systems or networks. Personal information collected may include, full name, email address, IP address and any incidental personal information that is contained in electronic routing and identification information.
Note: This bank applies to personal information obtained as part of CSE’s statutory mandate set out at Paragraph 273.64(1)(b)of the National Defence Act. CSE is required by law to ensure that its activities are subject to measures to protect the privacy of Canadians.
Class of Individuals: This bank applies to potentially any individual who communicates electronically or has electronic transactions with an information infrastructure of importance to the Government of Canada while CSE is conducting an assessment of that institution’s electronic information and / or information technology infrastructure.
Purpose: Personal information may be used to assess potential threats to information technology systems subject to the assessment, and to help ensure the security of these electronic systems.
Consistent Uses: Where evidence of possible illegal activities are identified within the originating institution during CSE’s assessment, CSE may report the matter to that institution having the control of the personal information, for further action. The personal information described in this bank that is part of a cyber threat assessment may be disclosed to domestic investigative bodies for the fulfillment of their lawful duties or foreign bodies in accordance with agreements or Ministerial Direction.
Retention and Disposal Standards: Information in this bank is held for up to thirty years then transferred to Library and Archives Canada.
RDA Number: 2002/011
Related Record Number: CSE 002
TBS Registration: 20130234
Bank Number: CSE PPU 007

Internal Services

Internal Services are groups of related activities and resources that are administered to support the needs of programs and other corporate obligations of an organization. These groups are: Management and Oversight Services; Communications Services; Legal Services; Human Resources Management Services; Financial Management Services; Information Management Services; Information Technology Services; Real Property Services; Materiel Services; Acquisition Services; and Travel and Other Administrative Services. Internal Services include only those activities and resources that apply across an organization and not to those provided specifically to a program.

Acquisitions

Acquisition Services involve activities undertaken to acquire a good or service to fulfill a properly completed request (including a complete and accurate definition of requirements and certification that funds are available) until entering into or amending a contract.

Communications Services

Communications Services involve activities undertaken to ensure that Government of Canada communications are effectively managed, well coordinated and responsive to the diverse information needs of the public. The communications management function ensures that the public – internal or external – receives government information, and that the views and concerns of the public are taken into account in the planning, management and evaluation of policies, programs, services and initiatives.

Financial Management

Financial Management Services involve activities undertaken to ensure the prudent use of public resources, including planning, budgeting, accounting, reporting, control and oversight, analysis, decision support and advice, and financial systems.

Human Resources Management

Human Resources Management Services involve activities undertaken for determining strategic direction, allocating resources among services and processes, as well as activities relating to analyzing exposure to risk and determining appropriate countermeasures. They ensure that the service operations and programs of the federal government comply with applicable laws, regulations, policies, and/or plans.

Information Management

Information Management Services involve activities undertaken to achieve efficient and effective information management to support program and service delivery; foster informed decision making; facilitate accountability, transparency, and collaboration; and preserve and ensure access to information and records for the benefit of present and future generations.

Information Technology

Information Technology Services involve activities undertaken to achieve efficient and effective use of information technology to support government priorities and program delivery, to increase productivity, and to enhance services to the public.

Legal Services

Legal Services involve activities undertaken to enable government departments and agencies to pursue policy, program and service delivery priorities and objectives within a legally sound framework.

Management and Oversight Services

Management and Oversight Services involve activities undertaken for determining strategic direction, and allocating resources among services and processes, as well as those activities related to analyzing exposure to risk and determining appropriate countermeasures. They ensure that the service operations and programs of the federal government comply with applicable laws, regulations, policies, and/or plans.

Materiel

Materiel Services involve activities undertaken to ensure that materiel can be managed by departments in a sustainable and financially responsible manner that supports the cost-effective and efficient delivery of government programs.

Real Property

Real Property Services involve activities undertaken to ensure real property is managed in a sustainable and financially responsible manner, throughout its life cycle, to support the cost-effective and efficient delivery of government programs.

Travel and Other Administrative Services

Travel and Other Administrative Services include Government of Canada (GC) travel services, as well as those other internal services that do not smoothly fit with any of the internal services categories.

Manuals

  • Administrative Policy Manual
  • Operational Policy Manual
  • Human Resources Policy Manual
  • Security Integrity Index Manual
  • Security Policy Manual
  • Security Screening Procedures Manual

Additional Information

The Government of Canada encourages the release of information through requests outside the ATIP process. The Access to Information Act also specifies that it is intended to complement existing procedures for obtaining government information and is not to limit in any way the type of information that is normally available to the public, thereby denoting the importance of informal access. You may wish to consult the Communication Security Establishment's completed Access to Information summaries. To obtain information on how to make a formal request or informal request under the legislation we invite you to the following link: CSE ATIP.

Reading Room

In accordance with the Access to Information Act and the Privacy Act, the applicant may wish to review the material in person. Should you wish to review the CSE materials in Ottawa, Ontario, you must make an advance appointment by calling the Access to Information and Privacy Office at 613-991-8443, or by email at atip-aiprp@cse-cst.gc.ca.

Info Source

Sources de renseignements du gouvernement fédéral et sur les fonctionnaires fédéraux

Centre de la sécurité des télécommunications (CST)

Table des matières

Renseignements généraux

Introduction

Info Source : Sources de renseignements du gouvernement fédéral et sur les fonctionnaires contient de l’information au sujet des fonctions, des programmes, des activités et des fonds de renseignements connexes des institutions gouvernementales visées par la Loi sur l’accès à l’information et la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels. Le site Web fournit aux personnes et aux employés du gouvernement (actuels et anciens) des renseignements pertinents visant à leur donner accès aux renseignements personnels les concernant et qui sont détenus par les institutions gouvernementales visées par la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels et à les aider à exercer leurs droits en vertu de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels.

L’introduction et une liste des institutions visées par la Loi sur l’accès à l’information et la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels sont accessibles au niveau central.

En vertu de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information et de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels, le président du Conseil du Trésor (à titre de ministre désigné) est chargé de l’administration de la loi à l’échelle du gouvernement.

Contexte

Le Centre de la sécurité des télécommunications relève du Parlement par l’entremise du ministre de la Défense nationale.

Renseignez-vous au sujet du CST, y compris de son histoire, de la loi qui le régit et de ses mécanismes de reddition de comptes.

Responsabilités

Renseignez-vous au sujet du mandat et des responsabilités du CST.

Fonctions, programmes et activités institutionnels

Renseignement électromagnétique

Conformément à l’article 273.64 de la Loi sur la défense nationale, le programme de renseignement électromagnétique fournit du renseignement étranger qui répond aux intérêts vitaux du gouvernement du Canada en matière de défense, de sécurité et d’affaires internationales grâce à la collecte, au traitement et à l’analyse de renseignement, et grâce à l’élaboration de rapports connexes. Il permet également d’offrir une assistance technique et opérationnelle aux organismes fédéraux chargés de l’application de la loi et de la sécurité.

Renseignement – Catégories de documents

Description : Ces documents comprennent des dossiers et des ressources d’informations liées à la collecte et à l’utilisation de renseignements provenant de l’infrastructure mondiale d’information en vertu du mandat que la loi confère au CST de fournir du renseignement étranger au sujet de personnes étrangères, d’États étrangers, d’organisations étrangères ou de groupes terroristes étrangers pouvant avoir des répercussions sur les affaires internationales, la défense ou la sécurité du Canada (partie A du mandat du CST).
Ces documents comprennent en outre des dossiers et des ressources d’informations portant sur les demandes de prestation d’assistance technique et opérationnelle aux organismes fédéraux chargés de l’application de la loi et de la sécurité (partie C du mandat du CST).
Types de documents : Exigences en matière de renseignement, notes d’information, publications, plans, analyses, rapports, documents techniques, politiques, instructions, protocoles d’entente, renseignements obtenus de sources publiques, stratégies, matériel de formation, présentations, normes.
Numéro de fichier : CST MIS 080

Centre de la sécurité des télécommunications (CST) – Fichiers concernant le renseignement étranger, CST PPU 040 Fichier de renseignements personnels

Description : Ce fichier contient des renseignements personnels liés à de l’information sensible sur la sécurité du Canada, ses relations internationales et ses moyens de défense.
Remarque : Ce fichier est désigné par le gouverneur en conseil comme étant un fichier inconsultable, et ce conformément à l’article 18(1) de la Loi sur les renseignements personnels basé sur l’article 21 de la Loi. Le CST a reçu de la part du ministère de la Défense nationale ce fichier de renseignements personnels.
Catégorie des personnes : Ce fichier s’applique au grand public.
But : Ces renseignements servent à informer le gouvernement des questions portant sur la défense, la sécurité et les affaires internationales.
Usages compatibles : Il n’y a aucun usage compatible.
Normes de conservation et de destruction : L’information de ce fichier est conservée indéfiniment.
No ADD : 98/005
Renvoi au document no : CST MIS 080
Enregistrement (SCT) : 20130231
Numéro de fichier : CST PPU 040

Sécurité des technologies de l’information

Le programme de sécurité des technologies de l’information fournit des conseils, de l’orientation et des services visant la protection des renseignements électroniques et des systèmes d’information importants pour le gouvernement du Canada, conformément à l’alinéa 273.64 (1) b) de la Loi sur la défense nationale et à la Politique sur la sécurité du gouvernement.

Cyberdéfense – Catégories de documents

Description : Les documents de la cyberdéfense comprennent des dossiers et des informations liées aux activités de cyberdéfense qui renforcent la capacité de prévention ou de réduction de la probabilité de cyberattaques. Ces dossiers et informations sont utilisés dans le cadre d’activités de cyberdéfense et de surveillance des réseaux du gouvernement afin d’y détecter de possibles cyberattaques et pour analyser, évaluer, atténuer et contrecarrer les cyberattaques qui menacent ou qui pourraient menacer les systèmes et réseaux d’importance du gouvernement du Canada (GC).
Types de documents : Évaluation des menaces, moyens de diffusion des menaces et documents connexes. Par exemple, les documents peuvent comprendre des évaluations des menaces et des conseils d’atténuation, des politiques, des notes d’information, des rapports, des stratégies et des documents techniques.
Numéro de fichier : CST 002

Centre de la sécurité des télécommunications (CST) – Cyberdéfense, CST PPU 007 Fichier de renseignements personnels

Description : Le présent fichier est lié aux renseignements personnels que le CST pourrait recueillir au cours de ses activités d’évaluation à l’appui des organismes fédéraux, pour les aider à cerner, à isoler ou à prévenir les attaques contre les systèmes ou les réseaux informatiques du gouvernement du Canada. Les renseignements personnels recueillis peuvent comprendre le nom complet, l’adresse électronique, l’adresse IP et tout autre renseignement personnel connexe contenu dans les données de transmission et d’identification.
Note : Ce fichier s’applique aux renseignements personnels recueillis dans le cadre du mandat légal du CST, tel que défini dans l’alinéa 273.64(1)b) de la Loi sur la défense nationale (LDN). La loi oblige le CST à s’assurer que ses activités sont soumises à des mesures de protection de la vie privée des Canadiens.
Catégorie de personnes : Ce fichier s’applique potentiellement à toute personne qui communique électroniquement ou fait des transactions électroniques avec une infrastructure d’information importante pour le gouvernement du Canada, et ce, au cours d’une évaluation menée par le CST des renseignements électroniques ou de l’infrastructure des technologies de l’information de cet organisme.
But : Le CST peut utiliser les renseignements personnels pour évaluer les menaces potentielles aux systèmes de technologies de l’information soumis à l’évaluation et pour aider à assurer la sécurité de ces systèmes électroniques.
Usages compatibles : Au cours de l’évaluation, si le CST obtient des preuves d’activités illégales possibles, il peut faire un rapport des menaces à l’organisme ayant le contrôle des renseignements personnels, pour que ce dernier prenne les mesures qui s’imposent. Dans l’exercice des fonctions que la loi leur confère, des organismes d’enquête nationaux ou étrangers, en vertu des ententes ou des instructions du ministre, devront peut-être consulter les renseignements personnels faisant partie d’une évaluation des cybermenaces et consignés dans le présent fichier.
Normes de conservation et de destruction : : L’information de ce fichier est conservée pendant trente ans, puis est transférée à Bibliothèque et Archives Canada.
No ADD : 2002/011
Renvoi au document no : CST 002
Enregistrement (SCT) : 20130234
Numéro de fichier : CST PPU 007

Services internes

Les services internes sont des groupes d’activités et de ressources connexes qui sont gérés de façon à répondre aux besoins des programmes et des autres obligations générales d’une organisation. Ces groupes sont les suivants : services de gestion des acquisitions; services des communications; services de gestion des finances; services de gestion des ressources humaines; services de gestion de l’information; services de la technologie de l’information; services juridiques; services de gestion et de surveillance; services de gestion du matériel; services de gestion des biens; services de gestion des voyages et autres services administratifs. Ils comprennent uniquement les activités et les ressources destinées à l’ensemble d’un organisme et non celles fournies à un programme particulier.

Acquisitions

Activités mises en œuvre dans le but de se procurer les biens et les services requis pour répondre à une demande dûment remplie (y compris une définition complète et précise des exigences et la garantie que les fonds sont disponibles), et ce, jusqu’à la passation ou à la modification d’un marché.

Services de communications

Activités mises en œuvre afin de veiller à ce que les communications du gouvernement du Canada soient gérées efficacement, bien coordonnées et répondent aux divers besoins d’information du public. La fonction de gestion des communications assure la diffusion de renseignements gouvernementaux au public interne et externe ainsi que la prise en considération de ses préoccupations et intérêts dans la planification, la gestion et l’évaluation des politiques, des programmes, des services et des initiatives.

Gestion financière

Activités visant à assurer l’utilisation responsable des ressources publiques comme la planification, la gestion budgétaire, la comptabilité, la production de rapports, le contrôle et la surveillance, l’analyse, les conseils et le soutien au processus décisionnel, ainsi que les systèmes financiers.

Gestion des ressources humaines

Activités de détermination de l’orientation stratégique, d’affectation des ressources entre les services et les processus et activités liées à l’analyse des risques et à la détermination des mesures d’atténuation à prendre. Elles permettent de veiller à ce que les services et les programmes du gouvernement fédéral respectent les lois, les règlements, les politiques et les plans applicables.

Services de gestion de l’information

Activités visant à assurer une gestion efficiente et efficace de l’information, à l’appui de la prestation de programmes et de services, à faciliter la prise de décisions éclairées, à faciliter la reddition des comptes, la transparence et la collaboration, ainsi qu’à conserver l’information et les documents à l’intention de la présente génération et des générations futures en veillant à ce qu’ils demeurent accessibles.

Services de technologies de l’information

Activités dont le but est d’assurer l’utilisation efficiente et efficace de la technologie de l’information à l’appui des priorités gouvernementales et de la mise en œuvre des programmes afin d’accroître la productivité et d’améliorer les services offerts au public.

Services juridiques

Activités permettant aux ministères et organismes de réaliser les priorités et d’atteindre les objectifs associés à leurs politiques, programmes et services dans un cadre juridique approprié.

Services de gestion et de surveillance

Activités de détermination de l’orientation stratégique, d’affectation des ressources entre les services et les processus et activités liées à l’analyse des risques et à la détermination des mesures d’atténuation à prendre. Elles permettent de veiller à ce que les services et les programmes du gouvernement fédéral respectent les lois, les règlements, les politiques et les plans qui s’appliquent.

Services de matériel

Activités visant à assurer, de la part des ministères, une gestion du matériel durable et responsable sur le plan financier afin de soutenir l’exécution rentable et efficace des programmes gouvernementaux.

Services des biens immobiliers

Activités ayant pour objet d’assurer une gestion des biens immobiliers durable et responsable sur le plan financier, tout au long de leur cycle de vie, afin de soutenir l’exécution rentable et efficace des programmes gouvernementaux.

Services de voyage et autres services administratifs

Ces services comprennent les services de voyage du gouvernement du Canada (GC), ainsi que les autres services internes qui ne correspondent à aucune autre catégorie de services internes.

Manuels

  • Guide des politiques administratives
  • Guide des politiques opérationnelles
  • Guide des politiques sur les ressources humaines
  • Index relatif à la sécurité et à l’intégrité
  • Guide des politiques sur la sécurité
  • Manuel des procédures de filtrage de sécurité

Renseignements supplémentaires

Le gouvernement du Canada encourage la diffusion d’informations par d’autres moyens que le processus d’AIPRP. La Loi sur l’accès à l’information indique aussi qu’elle a pour objet de compléter les modalités existantes d’accès aux documents de l’administration fédérale, sans chercher à restreindre le genre de renseignements que les institutions fédérales mettent normalement à la disposition du grand public, ce qui dénote l’importance de l’accès informel. Vous souhaitez peut-être consulter la liste des demandes d’accès à l’information complétées du Centre de la sécurité des télécommunications et les évaluations des facteurs relatifs à la vie privée effectuées par l’organisme. Pour savoir comment effectuer une demande officielle ou une demande non officielle en vertu de la loi, nous vous invitons à consulter le lien suivant : AIPRP CST.

Salle de lecture

En vertu de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information et de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels, un espace a été réservé dans les locaux de l’organisme à titre de salle de lecture publique pour la consultation de documents. Si vous désirez consulter des documents dans la salle de lecture du CST située à Ottawa, vous devez au préalable prendre un rendez-vous avec le bureau de l’accès à l’information et de la protection des renseignements personnels au 613-991-8443, ou par courriel, à l’adresse suivante : atip-aiprp@cse-cst.gc.ca.