Biography of William T. Tutte

As a young mathematician and codebreaker, William T. Tutte deciphered a series of German military encryption codes and made an unsurpassed contribution to the success of the British wartime assault on enemy codes and ciphers at Bletchley Park.

Tutte was born May 14, 1917 at Fitzroy House in Newmarket, England. His father was the House gardener and his mother the caretaker. From a young age, he excelled in his studies, entering the Cambridge and County High School for Boys at the age of eleven. From there, he entered Trinity College, Cambridge where he studied chemistry and was actively involved in the Trinity Mathematical Society.

In 1941, upon invitation of his tutor, Tutte went to Bletchley Park- the World War II organization of code-breakers in Britain. It was there that he uncovered the structure of the encryption machines which generated a code known as "Fish", solely by observing the machine generated obscuring string and encrypted messages that were intercepted. His work enabled Britain to break these codes regularly throughout the remainder of the War.

Tutte returned to academia and went on to create a ground-breaking Ph.D. thesis in "Algebraic Theory of Graphs" (work for which he is internationally renowned), and spent the following 14 years as a professor with the Faculty of Mathematics at the University of Toronto.

Tutte moved to the University of Waterloo shortly after its opening and was instrumental in the creation of the Faculty of Mathematics as well as in establishing the identity and reputation for the new university. During his lengthy and accomplished career, Tutte was awarded the Tory Medal by the Royal Society in 1975, the Killam Prize in 1982, the CRC-Fields Institute Prize in 2001, and was elected as a Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada and as a Fellow of the Royal Society. He was also inducted as an Officer in the Order of Canada in 2001 shortly before his passing in 2002.

Biographie de William T. Tutte

Alors jeune mathématicien et cryptanalyste, William T. Tutte a décrypté une série de codes chiffrés de l'armée allemande et a contribué de façon inégalée aux succès de l'armée britannique grâce au décryptage des codes de l'ennemi à Bletchley Park.

William Tutte a vu le jour le 14 mai 1917 à la Fitzroy House à Newmarket en Angleterre. Son père y travaillait comme jardinier et sa mère, comme concierge. Dès son plus jeune âge, William excellait à l'école et a été admis à onze ans au lycée Cambridge and County pour garçons. Par la suite, il a été reçu au Trinity College de Cambridge où il a étudié la chimie et a participé activement à la Trinity Mathematical Society.

En 1941, à l'invitation de son tuteur, Tutte s'est rendu à Bletchey Park - l'organisation britannique chargée du décryptage de codes durant la Seconde Guerre mondiale. C'est là qu'il a découvert la structure des machines de chiffrement qui généraient un code appelé « Fish », simplement en observant les séquences générées par l'appareil et les messages chiffrés interceptés. Ses travaux ont permis à la Grande-Bretagne de décrypter ces codes régulièrement jusqu'à la fin de la Guerre.

Tutte est retourné au monde universitaire et a rédigé une thèse de doctorat révolutionnaire intitulée « Algebraic Theory of Graphs » (théorie algébrique des graphes), pour laquelle il est reconnu mondialement et a passé les 14 années suivantes comme professeur à la faculté de mathématiques de l'Université de Toronto.

M. Tutte a ensuite enseigné à l'Université de Waterloo peu après son ouverture et a joué un rôle clé dans la création de la faculté de mathématiques et dans l'établissement de l'image et de la réputation du nouvel établissement. Durant sa longue et prestigieuse carrière, M. Tutte a reçu la médaille Tory de la Société royale en 1975, la bourse Killam en 1982, le prix CRC-Fields Institute en 2001 et a été nommé membre de la Société royale du Canada et membre de la Société royale. Il a également été nommé officier de l'Ordre du Canada en 2001 peu avant son décès en 2002.