Annual Report to Parliament on the Administration of the Access to Information Act 2018-2019

Statistical Report on the Administration of the Access to Information Act

Number and Origin of Formal Requests

During the 2018-2019 reporting period, CSE received 66 requests under the ATIA (compared to 104, 144, and 92 in 2017-2018, 2016-2017 and 2015-2016 respectively) which represents a decrease from the last several reporting periods. CSE carried over an additional 70 requests from the previous reporting period into 2018-2019. By the end of the 2018-2019 fiscal year, CSE closed 61 requests totalling 2,565 pages processed, and carried-forward 75 requests into the next reporting period. In general, due to the sensitivity of the information and the volume of records, the requests received during 2018-2019 were more complex than those received in previous years. Media has been the largest source of requests for the past four reporting periods accounting for 68% of new requests in 2018-2019. Requests from the public and Academia made up 14% of the total requests received.

 
Table: Received Requests
Source Received Requests
2014-2015 2015-2016 2016-2017 2017-2018 2018-2019
Access 98 92 144 104 66
Access Consultations 107 74 79 105 107

Disposition of Completed Requests

CSE closed 61 requests during this reporting period. Of these, 37 were disclosed in part, four (4) resulted in full disclosure and (1) one was exempted in its entirety. Disclosures-in-part accounted for 61% of completed requests. There were 10 cases in which no records existed and 2 requests were abandoned by the applicants. CSE closed 21 fewer ATIA requests in 2018-2019 than the previous year due to competing operational priorities as well as staffing challenges. As CSE’s public profile continues to increase, the complexity/volume of requests made under the Access to Information Act has continued to rise. The significant increase in the volume of pages in consultations received and the difficulty of maintaining sufficient resources made finalizing requests a challenge. CSE intends to align its resources and enhance its processes in 2019-2020 to improve on this result.

 
Table: Closed Requests
Source Closed Requests
2014-2015 2015-2016 2016-2017 2017-2018 2018-2019
Access 128 87 138 82 61
Access Consultations 118 79 75 82 96

 
Table: Disposition of Completed Requests
Disposition

Completed Requests

2014-2015 2015-2016 2016-2017 2017-2018 2018-2019
All Disclosed 2% 5% 4% 1% 7%
Disclosed in part 60% 64% 71% 55% 61%
All Exempted 3% 1% 2% 2% 2%
All Excluded 2% 0% 0% 0% 0%
No records exist 15% 6% 11% 20% 16%
Request abandoned 13% 18% 8% 11% 3%
Neither confirm nor Deny 0% 6% 2% 11% 11%
Request Transferred 0% 0% 1% 0% 0%

Neither Confirm Nor Deny

Section 10(2) of the Act states that institutions do not have to disclose to a requester whether a record exists. Section 10(2) was designed to address situations in which the mere confirmation of a record’s existence (or non-existence) would reveal information that could be protected under the Act. Access to information best practices recommend that the application of section 10(2) be limited to circumstances where the confirmation or denial of the existence of a record would be injurious to Canada’s foreign relations, the defence of Canada, law enforcement activities and the safety of individuals, and the possible disclosure of personal information. When notifying a requester that it is invoking this provision, institutions must also indicate the part of the Act on which a refusal could reasonably be expected to be based if the record existed. The application of subsection 10(2) was used on seven (7) occasions during the 2018-2019 reporting period.

Completion Time

Almost half of ATIP requests were closed within 30 days in the 2018-2019 reporting periods. This can be attributed to the volume and complexity of requests, as well as resource issues. The 26 requests closed within 30 days in 2018-2019 represent 43% of the total completed requests. Several requests closed outside the 30 days were a result of extensions based on volume and the need for external consultations. CSE closed 16 (sixteen) requests in 31 to 60 days; thirteen (13) requests between 61 to 120 days; two (2) requests between 121 to 180 days; three (3) request between 181- 365 days; and one (1) took more than 365 days to process. Seventy-five (75) requests were carried forward into 2019-2020 compared to (70) seventy from 2017-2018 into 2018-2019 due to the increased complexity of the requests received. In general, due to the sensitivity of the information and the volume of records, the requests received during 2018-2019 were more complex than those received in previous years.

 
Table: Completion Time
Days Completion Time
2014-2015 2015-2016 2016-2017 2017-2018 2018-2019
Closed within 30 days 38% 55% 58% 55% 43%
31 to 60 days 13% 9% 9% 23% 26%
61 to 120 days 17% 23% 15% 10% 21%
121 to 180 days 8% 2% 4% 10% 3%
181 to 365 days 16% 5% 7% 1% 5%
More than 365 days 9% 6% 7% 1% 2%

Exemptions to the Release of Information

The exemption most applied by CSE was subsection 15(1) - Defence of the Access to Information Act. It was applied to protect information which could be reasonably expected to be injurious to the defence of Canada on 38 requests. Subsection 15(1) – International Affairs was also used 8 times to protect information that could be injurious to the conduct of international affairs. Other exemptions that were applied throughout the course of the fiscal year are paragraphs 16(2)(c), information relating to the vulnerability or methods used to protect particular buildings or other structures or systems and 19(1), personal information of individuals. The application of subsection 21(1), advice and recommendations, was consistent with the its application in the previous reporting period.

 
Table: Exemptions Applied (%)
Disposition

Completed Requests

2014-2015 2015-2016 2016-2017 2017-2018 2018-2019
13(1)a) 28 33 20 9 0
15(1)-Def. 99 98 94 96 100
15(1) - A.I. 32 37 41 9 21
16(2)c) 36 32 39 43 32
19(1) 31 40 38 40 37
21(1)a) 31 12 30 13 11
21(1)b) 22 9 13 13 18
21(1)c) 9 5 4 4 3
21(1)d) 6 2 11 0 5
23 14 26 20 6 5
24(1) 1 5 9 4 0

Extension of the Time Limit

There was one (1) extensions taken pursuant to paragraph 9(1)(a) of the Access to Information Act, however CSE took 10 extensions under paragraph 9(1)(b) to conduct consultations that could not be completed within the original time limit and no (0) extensions under paragraph 9(1)(c) to conduct third party consultations in accordance with subsection 27(1) of the Act. There was a decrease in extensions taken from the 2017-2018 reporting period, mainly attributed to a decrease in the number of required consultations with third parties.

Consultations

CSE was consulted on 107 requests during this fiscal year compared to 105 for the previous reporting period. Other government institutions accounted for 105 of the consultations while two (2) new consultation request was received from other organizations. CSE closed 96 consultations, and carried-over 43 into 2019-2020. In 2018-2019, CSE managed 137 ongoing consultation requests totalling 20,684 pages. Additionally, the receipt of ATIP consultation requests on historical records continues to contribute to an increase in volume resulting in 15,244 outstanding pages from the previous reporting period.

Requests Treated Informally

CSE responded to 58 informal requests for records previously released under the ATIA process in 2018-2019. This is a decrease from the 76 informal requests completed in 2017-2018. The 58 informal requests resulted in the re-release of over 104 previously disclosed packages.

Fees and Costs

The Service Fees Act requires a responsible authority to report annually to Parliament on the fees collected by the institution.

With respect to fees collected under the Access to Information Act, the information below is reported in accordance with the requirements of section 20 of the Service Fees Act.

  • Enabling authority: Access to Information Act
  • Fee amount: $5, the only fee charged for an ATI request
  • Total revenue: $355
  • Fees waived: In accordance with the Interim Directive on the Administration of the Access to Information Act, issued on May 5, 2016, the Communications Security Establishment waives all fees prescribed by the Act and Regulations, other than the $5 application fee set out in paragraph 7(1)(a) of the Regulations.
  • Cost of operating the program: $475,354.

Rapport annuel au Parlement sur l’application de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information 2018-2019

Rapport statistique sur l’application de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information

Nombre de demandes officielles et origine  

 Durant la période que couvre le rapport de 2018-2019, le CST a reçu 66 demandes d’AIPRP (comparativement à 104, à 144 et à 92 demandes en 2017-2018, en 2016-2017 et en 2015-2016 respectivement), ce qui témoigne d’une diminution par rapport aux périodes visées par les derniers rapports. En 2018-2019, le CST a aussi répondu à 70 autres demandes découlant de l’exercice précédent. À la fin de l’exercice 2018-2019, le CST a clos 61 demandes totalisant 2565 pages traitées, puis a reporté 75 demandes à la période qui sera couverte par le prochain rapport. De manière générale, compte tenu de la sensibilité de l’information et du volume de documents, les demandes reçues durant l’exercice 2018-2019 se sont révélées plus complexes que celles reçues dans les années passées. Les médias représentent la catégorie de demandeurs la plus importante des quatre dernières périodes visées par un rapport ; ils ont représenté 68 pour cent des nouvelles demandes en 2018-2019. Les demandes du public et du milieu universitaire ont représenté 14 pour cent de toutes les demandes reçues.

 
Tableau : Demandes reçues
Source Demandes reçues
2014-2015 2015-2016 2016-2017 2017-2018 2018-2019
Accès 98 92 144 104 66
Consultations - accès 107 74 79 105 107

Disposition des demandes traitées

Le CST a clos 61 demandes au cours de la période visée. De ce nombre, 37 ont donné lieu à la communication partielle de documents, quatre à la communication totale de documents et seulement une a été entièrement soustraite à la communication de documents. Les demandes ayant donné lieu à une divulgation partielle représentaient 61 pour cent des demandes traitées par l’organisme. Aucun document n’existait dans le cas de dix demandes, et deux demandes ont été abandonnées par les demandeurs. En 2018-2019, le CST a clos 21 demandes d’AIPRP de moins que lors de l’exercice précédent en raison de priorités opérationnelles concurrentes et de problèmes de dotation. Parallèlement à l’accroissement du profil public du CST, la complexité et le volume de demandes transmises en vertu de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information ne cessent d’augmenter. La hausse importante de pages de consultation reçues et la difficulté de maintenir les ressources suffisantes complexifient le traitement des demandes. Le CST prévoit aligner ses ressources et de perfectionner ses processus en 2019-2020 afin d’améliorer ce résultat.

 
Tableau : Demandes closes
Source Demande closes
2014-2015 2015-2016 2016-2017 2017-2018 2018-2019
Accès 128 87 138 82 61
Consultations - accès 118 79 75 82 96
 
Table: Disposition des demandes traitées
Disposition des demandes complétées Nombre de demandes
2014-2015 2015-2016 2016-2017 2017-2018 2018-2019
Communication totale 2% 5% 4% 1% 7%
Communication partielle 60% 64% 71% 55% 64%
Exception totale 3% 1% 2% 2% 2%
Exclusion totale 2% 0% 0% 0% 0%
Aucun document n'existe 15% 6% 11% 20% 16%
Demande abandonnée 13% 18% 8% 11% 3%
Ni confirmée ni infirmée 0% 6% 2% 11% 11%
Demande transférée 0% 0% 1% 0% 0%

Confirmer ou nier l’existence d’un document

Le paragraphe 10(2) de la Loi précise que les institutions ne sont pas obligées de faire état de l’existence d’un document. Le paragraphe 10(2) vise à résoudre les situations dans lesquelles la simple confirmation de l’existence (ou la non-existence) d’un document pourrait révéler de l’information autrement protégée sous la Loi. Selon les pratiques exemplaires en matière d’accès à l’information, on recommande de limiter l’application du paragraphe 10(2) aux situations où le simple fait de confirmer ou de nier l’existence d’un document risquerait de porter préjudice aux relations étrangères du Canada, à la défense du Canada, aux activités d’application de la loi et à la sécurité des personnes, et de divulguer des renseignements personnels. Lorsqu’elles avisent un demandeur qu’elles invoquent cette disposition, les institutions doivent aussi indiquer l’article de la Loi sur lequel un refus pourrait raisonnablement se fonder si le document existait. Le paragraphe 10(2) a été invoqué à sept occasions au cours de l’exercice 2018-2019 sur lequel porte le présent rapport.

Délai de traitement

Durant l’exercice 2018-2019, près de la moitié des demandes d’AIPRP ont été traitées dans les 30 jours qui ont suivi la réception des demandes, ce qui peut s’expliquer par le volume et la complexité des demandes, de même que par les problèmes de dotation. Les 26 demandes traitées dans un délai de 30 jours en 2018-2019 représentent 43 pour cent du nombre total de demandes complétées. Le traitement supérieur à 30 jours dans le cas de plusieurs demandes découle des prorogations accordées en raison du volume et du besoin de consulter des intervenants externes. Le CST a clos 16 demandes dans un délai de 31 à 60 jours ; 13 demandes dans un délai de 61 à 120 jours ; 2 demandes dans un délai de 121 à 180 jours ; 3 demandes dans un délai de 181 à 365 jours ; et 1 demande a exigé un traitement supérieur à 365 jours. Le CST a reporté 75 demandes à l’exercice 2019-2020, comparativement aux 70 demandes reçues en 2017-2018 qu’il avait reportées à 2018-2019 en raison de la complexité accrue des demandes reçues. De manière générale, compte tenu de la sensibilité de l’information et du volume de documents, les demandes reçues durant l’exercice 2018-2019 se sont révélées plus complexes que celles reçues dans les années passées.

 
Tableau : Délais de traitement
Jours Délais de traitement
2014-2015 2015-2016 2016-2017 2017-2018 2018-2019
Moins de 30 jours 28% 55% 58% 55% 43%
De 31 à 60 jours 13% 9% 9% 23% 26%
De 61 à 120 jours 17% 23% 15% 10% 21%
De 121 à 180 jours 8% 2% 4% 10% 3%
De 181 à 365 jours 16% 5% 7% 1% 5%
Plus de 365 jours 9% 6% 7% 1% 2%

Exceptions concernant la communication de l’information

L’exception la plus commune appliquée au CST se rapportait au paragraphe 15(1), portant sur la défense, de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information. Elle a été appliquée dans le cas de 38 demandes afin de protéger l’information qui risquerait vraisemblablement de porter préjudice à la défense du Canada. Le paragraphe 15(1), qui porte aussi sur les affaires internationales, a également été invoqué à huit reprises pour protéger l’information qui risquerait de porter préjudice aux affaires internationales. D’autres exceptions appliquées au cours de l’exercice découlent de l’alinéa 16(2)c), qui a trait à l’information portant sur la vulnérabilité de certains bâtiments ou autres ouvrages ou systèmes, ou sur les méthodes employées pour les protéger, et du paragraphe 19(1), qui a trait aux renseignements personnels. L’application du paragraphe 21(1), traitant entre autres d’avis et de recommandations, correspond à celle de la période couverte par le rapport précédent.

 
Tableau : Délais de traitement
Jours Exceptions concernant la divulgation d'information (%)
2014-2015 2015-2016 2016-2017 2017-2018 2018-2019
13(1)a) 28 33 20 9 0
15(1)-Def. 99 98 94 96 100
15(1) - A.I. 32 37 41 9 21
16(2)c) 36 32 39 43 32
19(1) 31 40 38 40 37
21(1)a) 31 12 30 13 11
21(1)b) 22 9 13 13 18
21(1)c) 9 5 4 4 3
21(1)d) 6 2 11 0 5
23 14 26 20 6 5
24(1) 1 5 9 4 0

Prorogation du délai

Le CST a prorogé le délai de réponse pour une demande en conformité avec l’alinéa 9(1) a) de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information. Il a en outre prorogé le délai de réponse pour dix demandes en vertu de l’alinéa 9(1) b) afin de mener des consultations qu’il n’était pas possible de faire dans le délai prévu. Conformément à l’alinéa 9(1) c), aucune demande n’a été prorogée aux fins de consultation d’un tiers aux termes du paragraphe 27(1) de la Loi. Le nombre de prorogations a diminué comparativement à la période couverte par le rapport de l’exercice 2017-2018, essentiellement en raison de la diminution du nombre de consultations auprès de tiers.

Consultations

Au cours du présent exercice, le CST a reçu 107 demandes de consultation comparativement à 105 au cours de la période visée par le dernier rapport. D’autres institutions gouvernementales ont présenté 105 demandes de consultations, alors que deux nouvelles demandes de consultation provenaient d’autres organismes. Le CST a clos 96 demandes de consultation et a reporté 43 demandes de consultation à l’exercice 2019-2020. En 2018-2019, le CST a traité 137 demandes de consultation continues totalisant 20 684 pages. De plus, la réception de demandes de consultations en matière d’AIPRP au sujet de documents historiques a continué de contribuer à l’augmentation du volume de documents, ce qui s’est traduit par le traitement de 15 244 pages en suspens depuis la période visée par le rapport précédent.

Demandes informelles

En 2018-2019, le CST a répondu à 58 demandes informelles d’accès à des documents qui avaient déjà été communiqués en vertu de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information. Il s’agit d’une diminution par rapport aux 76 demandes traitées en 2017-2018. Au cours de l’exercice, ces 58 demandes informelles ont donné lieu à la communication de 104 trousses qui avaient déjà été communiquées.

Frais et coûts

La Loi sur les frais d’utilisation exige qu’une autorité responsable présente un rapport annuel au Parlement sur les frais perçus par l’institution.

En ce qui concerne les frais perçus en vertu de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information, on rapporte les informations suivantes conformément aux exigences de l’article 20 de la Loi sur les frais d’utilisation.

  • Autorité habilitante : Loi sur l’accès à l’information
  • Montant des frais : Cinq dollars, les seuls frais demandés par demande d’AIPRP
  • Total des recettes : 355 dollars
  • Frais perçus : Conformément à la Directive provisoire concernant l’administration de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information publiée le 5 mai 2016, le Centre de la sécurité des télécommunications ne perçoit pas de frais prescrits par la Loi et les règlements, sauf les frais de cinq dollars détaillés dans l’alinéa 7(1) a) du règlement.
  • Coût d’exploitation du programme : 475 354 dollars