Frequently Asked Questions - ATIP

The questions below have been organized by the following topics:

General

Can non-residents of Canada access records held by Canadian federal institutions?

Only Canadian citizens, permanent residents and individuals present in Canada can make use of the Access to Information Act and the Privacy Act. However, you can ask that a Canadian citizen or a permanent resident submit an Access to Information or Privacy request on your behalf.

Will I receive more information if I retain the services of a lawyer or have a Member of Parliament make the request on my behalf?

No. You will receive the same information whether you send in the request yourself or whether a lawyer, Member of Parliament or anyone else makes the request on your behalf with your consent. Community status or professional titles will not slow down or expedite the processing of a request.

Where can I find a copy of the Access to Information Act and the Privacy Act?

Both Acts are available online at the following addresses:

Access to Information Act
Privacy Act

Access to Information Act

Who can make a request under the Access to Information Act?

The Access to Information Act gives every Canadian citizen, permanent resident and individual or corporation present in Canada the right to access records—in any format—that are held under the control of a government institution, subject to certain specific and limited exceptions.

Is there a cost to submit a request under the Access to Information Act?

Each request submitted under the Access to Information Act must be accompanied by a $5 application fee (cheque or money order made payable to the Receiver General of Canada). This application fee entitles you to 5 hours of search and preparation.

Additional charges may be applied during the course of processing your request. These additional charges may be related to search, preparation, computer processing, photocopying, etc. as identified in the Access to Information Regulations. When additional fees are assessed, a deposit may be required for the processing costs associated with your request. You will receive a written estimate in additional charges apply.

If you want a refund of the application fee or a fee waiver, you should indicate it on your application, giving your reasons for seeking such.

How and where does a requester submit an Access to Information Act request?

To make a formal Access to Information Act request, complete Treasury Board’s Access to Information Request form. You can also choose to send a letter detailing the information you wish to receive. You must state in your letter that your request is being made under the Access to Information Act. You must also include the $5 application fee.

Send all completed request forms or letters (include the $5 application fee) to:

Communications Security Establishment
Access to Information and Privacy Coordinator
P.O. Box 9703
Terminal
Ottawa, Ontario
K1G 3Z4

Note: The Communications Security Establishment does not accept requests via e-mail, fax or telephone. Please submit your requests by mail.

May I lodge a complaint related to the Access to Information Act?

Yes, you may lodge a complaint with the Office of the Information Commissioner about any matter related to your Access to Information Act request. For example, your complaint may involve exemptions applied, delays in providing a response, fee estimates, etc. A complaint must be made within 60 days from the date that you received a response to your request. There is no cost to you for the investigation of a complaint. Complaints must be submitted in writing to:

Office of the Information Commissioner of Canada
30 Victoria Street
Gatineau, Quebec
K1A 1H3
Email: general@oic-ci.gc.ca

I work for a law firm and wish to have a copy of a Communications Security Establishment file. Can I submit an Access to Information Act request to receive a copy of that file?

You may submit the request; however, if you do not have written, signed consent from your client or from any of the parties involved in the file, the information that you will receive will be limited. Without consent from the individuals, you will not have access to any personal information within that file and thus you may not receive the documents you are seeking.

In order to ensure that you will get the information you require, provided that other exemption(s) do not apply, have your client sign a consent form that includes the following:

  • your client’s full name and date of birth;
  • your client’s consent for CSE to disclose his/her personal information to you; and
  • an original signature. Note that a fax or photocopy will not be accepted.

Can I submit an Access to Information Act request to receive answers to questions that I have about your organization?

The Access to Information Act was established to provide a right to seek access to (or copies of) documents held by an organization. The Act does not make provisions for organizations to create new records or to answer specific questions.

All questions about the Communications Security Establishment should be directed to Media Relations and Public Affairs at 613-991-7248 or media@cse-cst.gc.ca

Privacy Act

Who can make a request under the Privacy Act?

The Privacy Act protects the privacy of all Canadian citizens and permanent residents regarding personal information held by a government institution. It also gives these individuals, including those in Canada who are not permanent residents or citizens, the right to access their own personal information.

Is there a cost to submit a request under the Privacy Act?

There are no fees associated with submitting a request under the Privacy Act.

What is considered personal information?

Section 3(a)-(i) of the Privacy Act outlines the basis of what is considered personal information. Some examples include, but are not limited to:

  • age and gender
  • blood type
  • credit card numbers
  • criminal records
  • educational history
  • employment history within a non-governmental organization
  • financial history
  • fingerprints
  • home address
  • medical history
  • any identifiable number, including social insurance numbers (SIN)
  • race, ethnic and national origin
  • religious beliefs
  • telephone numbers
  • views or opinions of another individual about the individual

What is considered non-personal information?

Non-personal information includes employment information of an individual working for the federal government, such as:

  • details of employment contract
  • job classification
  • job title
  • salary range
  • security level of position
  • work-related correspondence
  • work telephone and fax number

How and where does a requester submit a Privacy Act request?

To make a formal request under the Privacy Act, complete Treasury Board’s Request for Personal Information form. You can also choose to send a letter detailing the information you wish to receive. You must state in your letter that your request is being made under the Privacy Act.

Send all completed request forms or letters to:

Communications Security Establishment
Access to Information and Privacy Coordinator
P.O. Box 9703
Terminal
Ottawa, Ontario
K1G 3Z4

Note: The Communications Security Establishment does not accept requests via e-mail, fax or telephone. Please submit your requests by mail.

May I lodge a complaint related to the Privacy Act?

Yes, you may lodge a complaint about any matter related to your Privacy Act request. You may also lodge a complaint if you believe the government institution has not respected your privacy rights. You may send your complaint to:

Office of the Privacy Commissioner of Canada
30 Victoria Street
Gatineau, Quebec
K1A 1H3
Toll-free: 1-800-282-1376
Phone: 819-994-5444
TTY: 819-994-6591

Can a requester receive personal information on someone who is deceased?

In accordance with the Privacy Act, personal information on an individual can be released if that individual has been deceased for 20 years or more. Reasonable proof must be provided. Examples of what constitutes reasonable proof include obituary notices, death certificates, photographs of tombstones and provincial vital statistics.

If a person has been dead for less than 20 years, the executor or executrix of the estate or, in the case of an individual who has died without a will (intestate), the administrator of the estate, may request personal information of the deceased. However, the executor or administrator of the estate will not have an unlimited right of access to all of the deceased’s personal information. The disclosure of personal information will be strictly limited to only the information that will allow them to fulfill their legal responsibilities to finalize the estate.

Response time

How long does it take?

Both the Access to Information Act and the Privacy Act allow for a legal response time of 30 calendar days from the date of receipt of an official request. The Acts also allow for legal extensions to this first 30 calendar-day response time.

The Privacy Act provides for one legal extension of no more than 30 days, which means an institution may take up to 60 days to provide you with a response.

The Access to Information Act also provides for a legal extension to the response time for reasons such as the volume of requests and consultations with other parties.

You will be notified should an extension of the response time be required under either Act within the first 30 days following receipt of your request.

How to expedite an Access to Information response

  • Consult the government publication Info Source and the comprehensive list of information holdings.
  • Do not ask for all the information on a subject unless you really want it all. Narrowing your request will produce much faster results and will keep costs down.
  • Do not forget to send your $5 application fee along with your Access to Information Act request. The Communications Security Establishment is not obligated to process a request if the fee is not paid.
  • An explanation may help the ATIP Office find the material you are seeking. In addition, focusing your request on a specific report or document will allow the ATIP Office to greatly expedite the response.
  • Include your phone number on your request and ask the ATIP Office to call you for any necessary clarification.
  • Keep a copy of your request and all related correspondence for future reference.

Foire aux questions - AIPRP

Les questions ci-dessous sont classées selon les sujets suivants :

Généralités

Loi sur l'accès à l'information

Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels

Délai de traitement

Généralités

Des non-résidents du Canada peuvent-ils avoir accès à des documents détenus par des institutions fédérales canadiennes?

Seuls les citoyens canadiens, les résidents permanents et les personnes présentes au Canada peuvent se prévaloir de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information et de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels. Cependant, un non?résident peut demander qu’un citoyen canadien ou un résident permanent soumette pour son compte une demande en vertu de l’une ou l’autre de ces lois.

Est-ce que je recevrai plus d’information si je retiens les services d’un avocat ou si je demande à un député de faire la demande en mon nom?

Non. Vous recevrez la même information que vous présentiez la demande vous-même, que vous reteniez les services d’un avocat ou que vous demandiez à un député ou à une autre personne de faire la demande en votre nom avec votre consentement. Ni le statut du demandeur au sein de la communauté ni ses titres professionnels n’ont pour effet de ralentir ou d’accélérer le traitement d’une demande.

Où puis-je me procurer une copie de la Loi sur l'accès l'information et la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels?

Les deux lois sont publiées en ligne aux adresses suivantes :

Loi sur l'accès à l'information
Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels.

Loi sur l'accès à l'information

Qui peut présenter une demande en vertu de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information?

La Loi sur l'accès à l'information donne aux citoyens canadiens et aux résidents permanents ainsi qu’aux personnes ou entreprises qui se trouvent au Canada un droit d'accès aux dossiers relevant d’une institution fédérale, peu importe le support sur lequel ils se trouvent. Il y a toutefois quelques exceptions précises.

Faut-il payer pour présenter une demande en vertu de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information?

Des frais de 5 $ s’appliquent à chaque demande faite en vertu de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information. Ces frais, payables par chèque ou par mandat libellé au nom du receveur général du Canada, vous donnent droit à cinq heures de recherche et de préparation.

Des frais supplémentaires liés, entre autres choses, à la recherche, à la préparation, au traitement informatique et à la photocopie pourraient s’appliquer au cours du traitement de votre demande. Le Règlement sur l’accès à l’information fait état de ces frais. Un dépôt peut être exigé pour les frais de traitement de la demande lorsque les frais supplémentaires sont estimés. Vous recevrez par écrit un estimation de ces frais, s'il y a lieu.

Si vous désirez un remboursement des frais de demande ou une dispense des frais, veuillez le préciser sur votre demande, ainsi que les raisons justifiant ce remboursement ou cette dispense.

Quelle est la marche à suivre pour présenter une demande en vertu de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information?

Pour présenter une demande officielle en vertu de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information, il faut remplir le Formulaire de demande d'accès à l'information du Conseil du Trésor. Une lettre faisant état des renseignements que vous souhaitez obtenir peut remplacer ce formulaire. Il faut indiquer dans cette lettre que les renseignements sont demandés en vertu de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information et joindre les frais prescrits de 5 $.

Envoyez les formulaires de demande ou les lettres (ainsi que les frais de 5 $) à l'adresse :

Centre de la sécurité des télécommunications
Coordonnateur, Accès à l'information et protection des renseignements personnels
C.P. 9703
Terminus
Ottawa (Ontario)
K1G 3Z4

Remarque : Le Centre de la sécurité des télécommunications n'accepte pas les demandes présentées par courriel, télécopieur ou téléphone. Veuillez donc transmettre votre demande par courrier.

Puis-je déposer une plainte en vertu de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information?

Oui. Vous pouvez déposer une plainte concernant n’importe quelle question liée à la demande que vous avez présentée en vertu de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information. Par exemple, votre plainte pourrait concerner les exceptions appliquées, les délais de traitement ou l'estimation des frais. Toute plainte doit être déposée dans les 60 jours suivant la date de réception de la réponse à votre demande. Aucun frais ne s'applique pour l'enquête liée à une plainte. Les plaintes doivent être présentées par écrit, à l'adresse :

Commissariat à l'information du Canada
30, rue Victoria
Gatineau, Québec
K1A 1H3
Numéro sans frais : 1-800-267-0441
Courriel : general@oic-ci.gc.ca

Je travaille pour un cabinet d’avocats et je désire obtenir copie d’un dossier du Centre de la sécurité des télécommunications. Puis-je présenter une demande en vertu de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information pour obtenir une copie de ce dossier?

Vous pouvez présenter une demande, mais si vous n’avez pas le consentement écrit et dûment signé de votre client ou des parties intéressées, vous n’aurez accès qu’à de l'information limitée. Sans le consentement des personnes visées, vous n’aurez accès à aucun des renseignements personnels contenus dans le dossier, ce qui signifie que vous ne recevrez pas nécessairement les documents que vous cherchez.

Pour vous assurer d’obtenir l’information qu’il vous faut, pourvu qu’aucune autre exception ne s’applique, demandez à votre client de signer une formule de consentement qui comprend les éléments suivants :

  • son nom au complet et sa date de naissance;
  • son consentement à ce que le CST vous communique ses renseignements personnels;
  • sa signature originale. Aucune télécopie ou photocopie ne sera acceptée.

Puis-je présenter une demande en vertu de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information pour obtenir réponse à des questions concernant votre organisation?

La Loi sur l'accès à l'information a été adoptée dans le but d’accorder aux demandeurs le droit de consulter des documents (ou des copies de ces documents) détenus par un organisme. Elle ne prévoit aucune disposition permettant aux organismes de créer de nouveaux dossiers ou de répondre à des questions précises.

Toutes les questions concernant le Centre de sécurité des télécommunications doivent être adressées aux Relations avec les médias et les affaires publiques, au 613-991-7248, ou à media@cse-cst.gc.ca.

Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels

Qui peut présenter une demande en vertu de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels?

La Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels protège la vie privée de tous les citoyens canadiens et résidents permanents relativement aux renseignements personnels les concernant dont dispose une institution fédérale. Elle donne également à ces personnes, ainsi qu’à celles qui se trouvent au Canada, mais ne sont pas des citoyens canadiens ou des résidents permanents, un droit d'accès à leurs propres renseignements personnels.

Faut-il payer pour présenter une demande en vertu de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels?

Il n’y a pas de frais pour les demandes présentées en vertu de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels.

Quels renseignements sont considérés comme personnels?

Les alinéas 3a) à 3i) de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels donne les grandes lignes de ce qui est considéré comme des renseignements personnels. Par exemple :

  • l'âge et le sexe;
  • le groupe sanguin;
  • les numéros de carte de crédit;
  • les casiers judiciaires;
  • l'éducation;
  • l'emploi au sein d'une organisation non gouvernementale;
  • les renseignements financiers;
  • les empreintes digitales;
  • l'adresse de la résidence;
  • le dossier médical;
  • tout numéro identificateur, y compris le numéro d'assurance sociale (NAS);
  • la race et l'origine ethnique et nationale;
  • les croyances religieuses;
  • les numéros de téléphone;
  • les points de vue ou opinions d'une autre personne au sujet de la personne concernée.

Quels renseignements sont considérés comme non personnels?

Les renseignements non personnels comprennent l'information sur l'emploi d'une personne au sein du gouvernement fédéral, notamment :

  • les détails concernant un contrat d'emploi;
  • la classification du poste;
  • le titre du poste;
  • l'échelle salariale;
  • le niveau de sécurité du poste;
  • les correspondances de nature professionnelle;
  • les numéros de téléphone et de télécopieur au travail.

Quelle est la marche à suivre pour présenter une demande en vertu de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels?

Pour présenter une demande officielle en vertu de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels, il faut remplir le Formulaire de demande d'accès à des renseignements personnels du Conseil du Trésor.

Une lettre faisant état des renseignements que vous souhaitez obtenir peut remplacer ce formulaire. Cette lettre doit indiquer que votre demande est présentée en vertu de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels.

Les formulaires dûment remplis et les lettres doivent être envoyés à :

Centre de la sécurité des télécommunications
Coordonnateur, Accès à l'information et protection des renseignements personnels
C.P. 9703
Terminus
Ottawa (Ontario)
K1G 3Z4

Remarque : Le Centre de la sécurité des télécommunications n'accepte pas les demandes présentées par courriel, télécopieur ou téléphone. Veuillez donc transmettre votre demande par courrier.

Puis-je déposer une plainte en vertu de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels?

Oui. Vous pouvez déposer une plainte concernant n’importe quelle question liée à la demande que vous avez présentée en vertu de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels. Vous pouvez aussi déposer une plainte si vous croyez que l’institution fédérale n’a pas respecté vos droits en matière de protection des renseignements personnels. Les plaintes doivent êtres soumises au :

Commissariat à la protection de la vie privée du Canada
30, rue Victoria
Gatineau, Québec
K1A 1H3
Numéro sans frais : 1-800-282-1376
Téléphone : 819-994-5444
ATS : 819-994-5444

Un demandeur peut-il recevoir des renseignements personnels concernant une personne décédée?

Conformément à la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels, des renseignements personnels peuvent être communiqués si la personne est décédée depuis au moins 20 ans. Une preuve raisonnable doit être fournie. Par preuve raisonnable, on entend, par exemple, une notice nécrologique, un certificat de décès, la photographie d’une pierre tombale et les statistiques provinciales de l’état civil.

Si une personne est décédée depuis moins de 20 ans, l’exécuteur testamentaire ou, dans le cas d’une personne décédée sans testament (intestat), l’administrateur de la succession peut demander les renseignements personnels de la personne décédée. L’exécuteur testamentaire ou l’administrateur ne possède toutefois pas un droit illimité d’accès à ces renseignements personnels. Il n’a accès qu’aux renseignements qui permettront d’exercer ses fonctions légales et de régler la succession.

Délai de traitement

Quel est le délai de traitement d'une demande?

La Loi sur l'accès à l'information et la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels prévoient toutes deux un délai de 30 jours civils à compter de la réception d’une demande officielle. Elles permettent aussi de prolonger ce premier délai de 30 jours.

La Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels prévoit une prorogation d’au plus 30 jours, ce qui signifie qu’une institution peut prendre jusqu’à 60 jours pour fournir une réponse.

La Loi sur l'accès à l'information prévoit aussi une prorogation du délai de réponse pour des raisons telles que le volume des demandes et le besoin de consulter d’autres parties.

Si une prorogation du délai de réponse est nécessaire en vertu de l’une ou l’autre des deux lois, vous serez avisé dans les 30 jours suivant la réception de votre demande.

Quelle est la marche à suivre pour assurer le traitement rapide d'une demande présentée en vertu de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information?

  • Consultez la publication gouvernementale Info Source et la liste complète des fonds de renseignements.
  • Ne demandez pas tous les renseignements sur un sujet à moins que vous ne les vouliez vraiment. Une demande plus restreinte devrait entraîner une réponse plus rapide et coûter moins cher.
  • N’oubliez pas d’accompagner de la somme de 5 $ votre demande en vertu de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information. Le Centre de sécurité des télécommunications n’est pas tenu de traiter une demande si les droits n’ont pas été acquittés.
  • En fournissant des explications, vous pouvez aider le Bureau de l'AIPRP à trouver exactement ce que vous recherchez. De plus, il pourra répondre plus rapidement à votre demande si vous lui indiquez précisément le rapport ou le document que vous recherchez.
  • Inscrivez votre numéro de téléphone sur votre demande et demandez au Bureau de l'AIPRP de communiquer avec vous pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements.
  • Conservez une copie de votre demande et de toute la correspondance à ce sujet pour consultation ultérieure.