CSE Puzzle Challenge - Puzzle 18

The Terrors in IT

Moss Trenneman had worked in the IT department of Sunshine Corp. for over 20 years. He had started out a fresh young grad and had climbed the ranks over the years, loving his job more and more each day. In late June of 2018 the IT department had taken on a new junior employee named Richmond, and though he was a little dark Moss had seen a piece of himself in Richmond and began mentoring Richmond like he was a son. As time went on and markets fluctuated, Sunshine Corp. (which had always been family owned), began to fall into financial difficulty. Nicholas Sunshine, then owner of Sunshine Corp., did everything he could to keep the company in one piece and his employees working. Nonetheless, there was nothing to do but sell the company in the end. As heart broken as he was, Nicholas Sunshine always put his employees first, thus he had taken a great loss on the sale of the company to contractually ensure that all his current employees would maintain their jobs and pensions.

On Monday March 19, 2019 the announcement of the sale was made, and Sunshine Corp. began its transition into a new subsidiary of the corporate giant Wick ID Corp. This was not a simple transition for most employees, but for Moss and his little buddy Richmond this meant epic change. Wick ID Corp. brought in IT staff from their head office to help with the transitioning of the current network to the Wick ID Corp. Network, and there were so many of them that Moss and Richmond could barely keep up with all the changes. Moss suddenly found himself locked out of certain areas of the network, and began to grow suspicious of what it was Wick ID Corp actually did.

Using the guise of urgent network map updates due to bottle-necking in high priority areas Moss was able to stay late, long after the Wick ID Corp. staff had gone home, so that he could take a more liberal walk around the network and find out what Wick ID Corp was really up to!

That was three days ago; Moss has not been seen since. Richmond is desperate to find out what might have happened to him, he knows Moss would never have just left him, and he knows the real reason Moss was staying late that night, but all he is allowed to do now is sit and monitor network traffic.  

Can you help?

TheStrangePacketCapture.pcapng

 

 

Solution

Défi Énigme du CST – Énigme 18

La terreur dans le service des TI

Moss Trenneman travaille dans le service des TI de la société Sunshine depuis plus de 20 ans. Il y a commencé sa carrière dès sa sortie de l’université et a gravi progressivement les échelons, se passionnant chaque jour de plus en plus pour son travail. À la fin de juin 2018, le service des TI a embauché un nouvel employé appelé Richmond. Moss s’est immédiatement identifié à lui malgré la nature taciturne de ce dernier et l’a pris sous son aile. Au fil des années, les marchés ont fluctué et la société Sunshine, qui avait toujours été une société familiale, a commencé à éprouver des difficultés financières. Le propriétaire, Nicholas Sunshine, a fait tout ce qui était possible pour maintenir la société à flot et sauver les emplois de ses employés. Malheureusement, ses efforts ont été vains et il a été forcé de vendre. Faisant abstraction de sa grande peine, Nicholas Sunshine a mis les intérêts de ses employés avant les siens et a vendu la société à perte afin de garantir les emplois et le régime de pension des employés actuels.

Le mardi 19 mars 2019, on a annoncé la vente de la société Sunshine et cette dernière est devenue une nouvelle filiale de la multinationale Wick ID. La transition n’a pas été facile pour la plupart des employés, mais pour Moss et son apprenti Richmond, il s’agissait d’un changement monumental. Le personnel du service des TI de Wick ID s’est amené pour faciliter l’intégration des deux réseaux. Moss et Richmond avaient du mal à maintenir le rythme des changements qui étaient apportés. Moss a perdu accès à certaines parties du réseau, ce qui a fait naître des soupçons quant aux activités qui étaient réellement menées par Wick ID.

Prétextant travailler sur d’urgentes mises à jour à apporter au mappage réseau en vue de remédier à un goulot d’étranglement dans des segments hautement prioritaires, Moss a obtenu l’autorisation de travailler après le départ du personnel de Wick ID. Il voulait profiter de l’occasion pour jeter un œil au réseau et découvrir ce que cachait son nouvel employeur.

Trois jours plus tard, personne n’avait eu de nouvelles de Moss. Richmond cherchait désespérément à savoir ce qui lui était arrivé. Il savait que Moss ne l’aurait jamais abandonné et il était au courant des motifs qui avaient poussé Moss à rester plus tard ce soir-là. Malheureusement, il ne pouvait que rester sagement à son poste et surveiller le trafic sur le réseau.

Pouvez-vous l’aider?

TheStrangePacketCapture.pcapng

 

 

Solution