Cyber Journal



Edition 2 – Winter 2013

In This Edition


Cyber Mitigation: The Essential Steps

In this edition of Cyber Journal, we delve further into the topic of cyber mitigation and highlight some of the best ways to curtail the persistent nature of cyber threat methods with special feature articles on spear phishing (social engineering) and application whitelisting.

Trends are always emerging on the technology scene and as government stakeholders we must carefully consider both the merits and pitfalls of these trends. For example, our article on Mobile Device Management draws awareness to the associated security concerns of employees using mobile devices to connect into government networks and helps isolate the potential risks.

We trust that you will find this edition of Cyber Journal both informative and relevant.

Originally signed by

Toni Moffa
Deputy Chief, IT Security


Essential Mitigation: Stop Them In Their Tracks!

As a government IT security professional, you often hear of IT cyber intrusions. Stopping cyber threats from impacting your systems may seem like a daunting task. To increase the GC’s network protection efforts, CSEC has used its unique threat knowledge to develop the Top 35 Mitigation Measures. The “Top 35” is a prioritized list of measures based on an analysis of incidents across the GC and CSEC’s experience in operational cyber security.

The purpose of the Top 35 is to provide concise and proactive best practices to help mitigate against targeted cyber intrusions. The list also provides information about mitigation implementation costs and user acceptance to help organizations select the best set of measures for their requirements.

Implementing the top four measures as a package could prevent the vast majority of the intrusions that CSEC currently responds to. The top four mitigation measures are:

  • Application whitelisting;
  • Patching third party applications;
  • Patching operating systems; and
  • Minimizing administrative privileges.

Implementing these measures can be achieved gradually; starting with systems used by high-value and often targeted employees, and eventually extending the measures to all users.

High-value and often targeted employees might include:

  • Senior executives and their assistants;
  • Help desk staff, system administrators;
  • Users who have access to sensitive information;
  • Users with remote access; and
  • Users whose job role involves interacting with members of the public.

As no single measure can prevent malicious cyber activity, CSEC strongly urges departments to first implement the top four measures as a package and then continue to improve their security posture by implementing the remaining measures as appropriate. To learn more or to download the entire list visit our IT publications web page: www.cse-cst.gc.ca/en/publication/list

New Releases!

The #1 Mitigation Measure: Application Whitelisting

What is application whitelisting?
It is an administrative practice used to prevent unauthorized or malicious programs from running.

What is a whitelist?
It's a list of applications that have been granted permission by the administrator to run.

How does it work?
When an application tries to execute, it is checked against the whitelist and, if found, the program is allowed to run.

Why should I do this?
Most intrusion detection systems have a list of undesirable applications; however, the ever increasing number of threats means that such a list can never be complete.

Where do I start?
High-value and often targeted employees as well as high-value enterprise services such as core application servers are a great first start.

Where can I get more information?
Application Whitelisting Explained, ITSB-95, is available on CSEC's IT publications website.

You’re On The Hook: Spear Phishing

GC departments and their networks are frequently targeted by a wide variety of threat actors looking to steal GC information. Socially engineered e-mails are the most common technique used in malicious cyber intrusions. The e-mails aim to trick the recipient into downloading malicious software by clicking on a link or attachment.

Cyber intruders are technologically savvy, vulnerability conscious and aggressively agile; a successful intrusion can quickly lead to the loss of data integrity and confidentiality.

42% of mailboxes targeted for attack are high-level executives, senior managers and people in R&D. That means 58% are going to people in other job functions such as sales, HR, media relations, assistants…

Symantec, Internet Security Threat Report, 2011.

Spear phishing has become very successful by using social engineering to tailor e-mails to individuals or groups based on their line of work, interest, or personal characteristics.

Spear phishing e-mails will be about a subject that is relevant to the recipient and will appear to be sent by a credible source. Socially engineered e-mails result in a more convincing message and entice the user into a false sense of security.

Before opening attachments or links within an e-mail ensure that:

  1. You really know who is sending the e-mail and that the tone is consistent for that sender.
  2. The content is really relevant to your work and not just related to your area of interest.
  3. The web-address or attachment is relevant to the content of the e-mail.
  4. You use extra caution if the e-mail is from a personal address (@yahoo.ca, @gmail.com) or a suspicious domain.

If you feel that you have received a suspicious e-mail, report the incident to your IT Service Desk.

Read Online: Spotting Malicious E-mail Messages (ITSB-100)

Smart Computing Tip

Microsoft has announced it will cease support to the Windows XP operating platform as of April 8, 2014.  This means that departments will no longer have access to patches for known security vulnerabilities in Windows XP, significantly increasing the probability of a successful intrusion. Patching operating systems is one of the top four measures in CSEC’s Top 35 Mitigation Measures. Upgrading operating systems across an entire department will take some time and CSEC strongly urges departments to plan ahead and upgrade your operating systems to a more recent version, preferably to Windows 7 or better.

Taking Care of Your Secure Communications Voice Device

Today there are more than 20,000 COMSEC voice devices distributed throughout the GC. Each is used to protect the GC’s most sensitive information. They are collectively managed within the National COMSEC Material Control System (NCMCS) and each one must be protected and safeguarded against unauthorized access from the time they are acquired to the time they are destroyed.  These devices include desktop versions such as the STE/KSV-22, OMNI, SWT and vIPer, as well as small mobile devices such as the SGSM.

The one commonality among these secure voice devices is that they each require a cryptographic key to operate in a secure mode. It is not sufficient just to load your device with a key.  In order to maintain the cryptographic health of your secure voice device, you must regularly update this key (known as a cryptographic rekey). 

Your COMSEC Custodian should remind you when it is time to rekey your secure voice device and provide you with specific directions.  To ensure your device is always operational and ready for use, CSEC recommends that you rekey your secure voice devices once every 3 months.

The Rekey Process

  1. Download the SCIP ECU Rekey Handbook from: www.cse-cst.gc.ca/en/publication/itsb-46
  2. Call: 613-949-5400 to update your Canadian keys.
  3. Then, if you have a non-Canadian key loaded, call: 1-877-386-1820.

Secure Voice Device Best Practices

  • Learn how to use your device before you need to use it in an emergency.
  • Physically secure the device or key when not in use.
  • Return it to your COMSEC Custodian when you retire, change employment or vacate offices.
  • Be aware of your surroundings. Your secure phone does not stop other from over hearing what you are saying.
  • Report any equipment losses, thefts or unauthorized access immediately to your COMSEC Custodian.

Did You Know? Risk Management Security Profiles

To help security practitioners develop a baseline set of departmental security controls, IT Security Risk Management: A Lifecycle Approach (ITSG-33) includes several security control profiles.  Specifically, ITSG-33 includes profiles that address the confidentiality, integrity and availability needs for the GC Protected A, Protected B and SECRET environments.  

These suggested security control profiles constitute a starting point to aid in the development of tailored profiles which meet a departments specific business, technical and threat contexts, as well as risk tolerance.  In addition, an Excel based profile tool has been created to help departments customize security profiles based on their risk management process.

To learn more about ITSG-33 security profiles and to access the online profile tool, visit our IT Security Guidance publications page:  www.cse-cst.gc.ca/en/publication/list.

Using Portable Media For Data Transfer

Information sharing across different security domains is an ongoing operational necessity within GC departments. In the case where departments do not yet have a full Cross Domain Solution (CDS) capability available, the most common solution is the use of portable media such as USB or CD-R to transfer data files manually. However, implementing such a solution introduces risks to both domains.

Before allowing portable media data transfer, there are some fundamental security issues which should be addressed.

Primary Risks and Threats

The primary risks are: the loss of sensitive data, introduction of malicious code and unauthorized data transfers.

  • Data loss is the accidental or intentional transfer of sensitive or classified information through removable media to networks that are not authorized to protect that information.
  • Portable media can be preloaded with malicious code to facilitate unauthorized access to information.
  • Portable media can be lost or stolen.

Mitigation

To prevent data loss and the introduction of malicious code, all files should be scanned using a commercial virus scanner as well as format specific supplemental data filtering during a transfer.

Robust Media Security Policy

A robust portable media security policy will mitigate the associated risks and threats through the implementation of properly selected security controls.

Deploying a portable media data transfer solution should include addressing these security questions, as well as developing robust policies and procedures.

For more information contact IT Security Client Services itsclientservices@cse-cst.gc.ca.

Smart Computing Tip

Adobe recently released Adobe Reader XI with improved security features.  Since the introduction of Adobe Reader version 10, the application now includes a sandbox element which helps filter and protect against known threats.  To carry out a successful intrusion, an adversary would first have to exploit a vulnerability in Adobe Reader, and then use another exploit to escape the sandbox, making it significantly more difficult for them to compromise a department’s network. Many GC departments are running older Adobe versions which are not patched and do not use this sandboxing technology, exposing departments to a greater number of threats. Patching third party applications is one of the top four measures in CSEC’s Top 35 Mitigation Measures. PDF files are a commonly used method of delivering malware via socially-engineered e-mails.  Take stock of your Adobe version today and consider patching or upgrading to a more recent version to increase your security coverage and reduce your IT risk.

Mobile Device Management Solutions

Mobile devices have spread rapidly across the GC corporate enterprise and provide opportunities for government to boost productivity and efficiency. However, mobile devices can also increase the risk of compromising sensitive information.  To help mitigate this threat, CSEC recommends departments deploy Mobile Device Management (MDM) solutions as part of their overall architecture. 

MDM software can secure, monitor, manage and support mobile devices deployed within a network by controlling and protecting data and configuration settings. They have a wide range of capabilities including:

  • Controlling security settings implemented inside the mobile device (basic solution);
  • Extending and enforcing corporate security policies and controls to mobile devices (advanced solution); and
  • Providing seamless integration with corporate systems and services.

It is important to note that MDM solutions cannot add controls and security features to mobile devices; other than those natively implemented on the device.

When considering whether to allow the connection of mobile devices into the GC corporate enterprise, managers must realize that MDM solutions are not the silver bullet to solving the security issues introduced by these platforms.  They must consider both the capabilities of the MDM solution, and the inherent security controls implemented in the chosen device

IT Security Training News

The IT Security Learning Centre (ITSLC) offers educational opportunities to help maintain the highest level of cyber security for the Government of Canada. Since IT security requirements and best practices are continually evolving, the ITSLC regularly reviews its courses and programs of study for relevance, applicability, and effect. As a result, a new catalogue will soon be unveiled which will include some changes to the courses and programs of study. 

Last fall, the ITSLC ventured into the e-learning arena with the launch of a new course titled, Controlling Authority (CA).  This course was provided in a blended learning solution of e-learning and a workshop. It focused on the delivery of comprehensive knowledge on the requirements to manage cryptographic keys on a network as well as the development of a Key Material Support Plan (KMSP).  This is just the first of many courses that will be made available to the GC population in an e-learning format over the next few years.

The Learning Centre Online

For an updated look at our Programs of Study and other specialized courses or to register for any of our upcoming courses please visit our website at:
www.cse-cst.gc.ca/en/group-groupe/its-training
its-education@cse-cst.gc.ca

What security concerns keep you up at night?

CSEC’s IT Security team is interested in knowing what security issues you face at your Department.

Please send us your questions, concerns or ideas for future articles: itsclientservices@cse-cst.gc.ca

About This Newsletter

Cyber Journal has been prepared for GC IT practitioners and stakeholders and is published on a periodic basis. This publication reflects the CSEC IT Security commitment to share information, advice and guidance with the broader GC community to help Departments and
agencies better protect themselves from cyber threats. The aim is to highlight key security issues and stimulate discussion about security within your department. In addition, the newsletter profiles key products and services offered by CSEC with information on how you can leverage them to help your GC organization. Security awareness throughout an organization is an essential element to improving the GC’s security posture. As such, we encourage you to share this information within your organization.

Contact Us

For general advice and security guidance support, contact:
itsclientservices@cse-cst.gc.ca General Inquiries: 613-991-7654

To report a cyber-incident contact the Cyber Threat Evaluation Centre:
ctec@cse-cst.gc.ca

For planning, support or any issues regarding COMSEC devices, contact COMSEC Client Services:
comsecclientservices@cse-cst.gc.ca General Inquiries: 613-991-8495

COMSEC custodians can contact the Crypto Material Assistance Centre (CMAC):
cmac-camc@cse-cst.gc.ca General Inquiries: 613-991-8600

For education and training services, contact the IT Security Learning:
its-education@cse-cst.gc.ca

Subscribe

To be notified of future releases, contact: itsclientservices@cse-cst.gc.ca

Cyberjournal



Numéro 2 - Hiver 2013

Dans ce numéro


Atténuation des cybermenaces : Mesures essentielles

Ce numéro du Cyberjournal contient des articles sur le harponnage (ingénierie sociale) et sur les listes blanches d’applications dans lesquels on se penche davantage sur l’atténuation des cybermenaces et des stratégies visant à contrer les méthodes persistantes de cybermenace.

De nouvelles tendances émergent constamment dans le domaine des technologies, et à titre d’intervenants gouvernementaux, nous devons examiner attentivement les mérites et les dangers connexes. Par exemple, l’article sur la gestion des dispositifs mobiles met l’accent sur les préoccupations en matière de sécurité liées à l’utilisation de dispositifs mobiles pour se connecter à des réseaux du gouvernement, et propose des mesures pour isoler les risques potentiels.

Le CSTC espère que ce nouveau numéro du Cyberjournal sera pour vous à la fois informatif et pertinent.

Signé initialement par

Toni Moffa
Chef adjointe, Sécurité des TI


Mesures essentielles d’atténuation : arrêter les cyberattaques!

En tant que professionnel de la sécurité des TI du gouvernement, vous entendez souvent parler des cyberintrusions. La lutte contre les cybermenaces peut sembler être une tâche ardue. Afin de renforcer les efforts de protection des réseaux du GC, le CSTC a utilisé ses connaissances uniques des menaces pour élaborer la liste des 35 mesures d’atténuation les plus efficaces. Ces mesures, présentées en ordre de priorité, sont fondées sur une analyse des incidents survenus à l’échelle du GC et reflètent l’expérience du CSTC en matière de cybersécurité opérationnelle.

Les 35 mesures d’atténuation les plus efficaces proposent des pratiques exemplaires concises et proactives visant à atténuer les cyberintrusions ciblées. Elles présentent aussi de l’information sur les coûts de mise en œuvre des mesures et la résistance des utilisateurs à ces mesures afin d’aider les organismes à sélectionner les mesures qui correspondent le mieux à leurs besoins.

La mise en œuvre simultanée des quatre mesures les plus importantes permettrait de prévenir la grande majorité des intrusions auxquelles le CSTC doit intervenir à l’heure actuelle. Voici les quatre mesures les plus importantes :

  • L’utilisation d’une liste blanche des applications
  • L’application de correctifs aux applications tierces
  • L’application de correctifs aux systèmes d’exploitation
  • La restriction du nombre d’utilisateurs possédant des droits d’accès administratifs

Il est possible de mettre ces mesures en œuvre graduellement, en commençant par les systèmes d’employés de premier plan et souvent ciblés, et en continuant avec les systèmes de tous les utilisateurs.

Employés de premier plan et souvent ciblés :

  • cadres supérieurs et leurs adjoints;
  • personnel des services de soutien et administrateurs système;
  • utilisateurs ayant accès à de l’information sensible;
  • utilisateurs disposant d’un accès à distance;
  • utilisateurs dont les fonctions exigent d’interagir avec des membres du public.

Il n’existe aucune mesure capable de prévenir toutes les cyberactivités malveillantes à elle seule. Par conséquent, le CSTC recommande fortement aux ministères de commencer par mettre en œuvre les quatre premières mesures d’atténuation, puis d’améliorer continuellement leur posture de sécurité en mettant en œuvre le reste des mesures en fonction de leurs besoins. Pour en apprendre davantage à ce sujet ou pour télécharger la liste, veuillez consulter le site Web du CSTC : http://www.cse-cst.gc.ca/fr/publication/list

Nouvelles publications!

La mesure d’atténuation la plus importante : l’utilisation d’une liste blanche des applications

Qu’est ce qu’une liste blanche des applications?
Pratique administrative visant à prévenir l’exécution de programmes non autorisés ou malveillants.

Qu’est ce qu’une liste blanche?
Liste d’applications dont l’exécution a été autorisée par l’administrateur.

Comment fonctionne-t-elle?
Lorsqu’une application tente de s’exécuter, le système vérifie si elle figure sur la liste blanche. Le cas échéant, l’exécution de l’application est autorisée.

Quels en sont les avantages?
La majorité des systèmes de détection d’intrusions utilisent une liste des applications indésirables. Toutefois, comme le nombre de menaces augmente sans cesse, ce type de liste ne sera jamais exhaustif.

Par où commencer?
On recommande de commencer par les systèmes d’employés de premier plan et souvent ciblés et de services de premier plan tels que les principaux serveurs d’applications.

Besoin de plus d’information?
Consultez l'ITSB-95, Utilisation d’une liste blanche des applications, sur le site Web du CSTC.

Une bonne prise : le harponnage

De nombreux types d’acteurs de menace à la recherche d’information du GC ciblent les ministères du GC et leurs réseaux. Les courriels conçus par ingénierie sociale représentent la technique la plus couramment utilisée dans les tentatives de cyberintrusion. Ces courriels tentent d’inciter les destinataires à télécharger un logiciel malveillant en cliquant sur un lien ou une pièce jointe.

Les cyberintrusions sont des cracks de la technologie, connaissent les vulnérabilités logicielles et sont très agiles; le succès d’une intrusion peut rapidement compromettre l’intégrité et la confidentialité des données.

42 % des employés ciblés sont des cadres supérieurs, des gestionnaires et du personnel en R et D, ce qui signifie que 58 % occupent d’autres fonctions : ventes, RH, relations avec les médias, adjoints…

Symantec, Internet Security Threat Report, 2011

Le harponnage emploie des techniques d’ingénierie sociale pour adapter un courriel à une personne ou à un groupe particulier, en fonction du domaine de travail, des intérêts ou de caractéristiques personnelles.

Un tel courriel comporte un objet qui a du sens pour son destinataire et semble provenir d’une source crédible. Les courriels conçus par ingénierie sociale contiennent un message plus convaincant et donnent au destinataire un faux sentiment de sécurité.

Avant de cliquer sur un lien ou d’ouvrir un document joint à un courriel, assurez-vous que : 

  1. vous connaissez vraiment l’expéditeur du courriel et que le ton général du message correspond au style normal de l’expéditeur;
  2. le contenu du message est bien lié à votre travail et qu’il n’est pas simplement associé à un champ d’intérêt;
  3. l’adresse Web ou la pièce jointe concerne le contenu du message;
  4. vous êtes prudent si le courriel provient d’une adresse personnelle (@yahoo.ca, @gmail.com) ou d’un domaine suspect.

Si vous pensez avoir reçu un courriel suspect, signalez l’incident à votre service de dépannage TI.

À lire en ligne : Identification des courriels malveillants (ITSB-100)

Conseil informatique

Microsoft a annoncé qu’il cessera de soutenir la plateforme d’exploitation Windows XP à partir du 8 avril 2014. Après cette date, les ministères n’auront plus accès aux correctifs pour les vulnérabilités de sécurité connues dans Windows XP, ce qui accroîtra considérablement le risque d’intrusion. L’application de correctifs aux systèmes d’exploitation est l’une des quatre mesures les plus importantes parmi Les 35 mesures d’atténuation les plus efficaces du CSTC. La mise à niveau des systèmes d’exploitation à l’échelle d’un ministère demande du temps. Le CSTC suggère fortement aux ministères de planifier à l’avance et d’installer une version plus récente de leur système d’exploitation, préférablement Windows 7 ou toute version ultérieure.

Comment prendre soin de votre dispositif de communication vocale sécurisé

À l’heure actuelle, plus de 20 000 dispositifs de communication vocale COMSEC sont utilisés au sein du GC pour protéger les renseignements les plus sensibles du gouvernement. Chaque dispositif est géré dans le Système national de contrôle du matériel COMSEC (SNCMC) et doit être protégé contre les accès non autorisés dès son acquisition et jusqu’à sa destruction. Ces dispositifs comprennent des versions pour poste de travail (p. ex. STE/KSV-22, OMNI, SWT et vIPer) ainsi que des dispositifs mobiles (p. ex. SGSM).

Tous ces dispositifs de communication vocale ont une caractéristique commune : ils nécessitent tous une clé cryptographique pour fonctionner en mode sécurisé. Il ne suffit pas de charger une clé dans le dispositif. Pour assurer la sécurité de votre dispositif, vous devez mettre à jour la clé régulièrement (ce que l’on appelle une « remise à la clé »).

Lorsque le temps sera venu de remettre à la clé votre dispositif, le gardien COMSEC de votre ministère vous le rappellera et vous donnera alors les directives appropriées. Pour vous assurer que votre dispositif est toujours opérationnel, le CSTC vous recommande de remettre à la clé vos dispositifs sécurisés tous les trois mois.

Processus de remise à la clé

  1. Téléchargez le Guide de remise à la clé des ECU SCIP : http://www.cse-cst.gc.ca/fr/publication/guides-remise-a-cle-dispositifs-conformes-au-protocole-dinteroperabilite-communications
  2. Composez le 613-949-5400 pour mettre à jour vos clés canadiennes.
  3. Si une clé non canadienne y est chargée, composez le 1-877-386-1820.

Dispositifs sécurisés – Pratiques exemplaires

  • Apprenez le fonctionnement de votre dispositif avant d’avoir à l’utiliser dans une situation d’urgence.
  • Gardez le dispositif ou la clé en lieu sûr lorsque vous ne l’utilisez pas.
  • Retournez le dispositif à votre gardien COMSEC lorsque vous prenez votre retraite, changez d’emploi ou quittez le bureau.
  • Soyez conscient de votre environnement immédiat; un téléphone sécurisé n’empêche pas votre entourage d’écouter votre conversation.
  • Signalez immédiatement à votre gardien COMSEC tout vol ou perte d’un dispositif ou tout accès non autorisé.

Le saviez vous? Profils de sécurité pour la gestion des risques

Pour aider les praticiens de la sécurité à élaborer un ensemble de contrôles de sécurité ministérielle de base, le document intitulé La gestion des risques liés à la sécurité des TI : Une méthode axée sur le cycle de vie (ITSG-33) propose plusieurs profils de contrôle de sécurité. Plus précisément, l’ITSG-33 comprend des profils qui répondent aux besoins de confidentialité, d’intégrité et de disponibilité des environnements Protégé A, Protégé B et SECRET du GC.

Ces profils de sécurité constituent un point de départ pour élaborer des profils adaptés aux contextes opérationnel et technique ainsi qu’aux contextes de la menace et de la tolérance aux risques des ministères. De plus, un outil Excel a été créé en vue d’aider les ministères à personnaliser leurs profils de sécurité en fonction de leur processus de gestion des risques.

Pour en apprendre davantage sur les profils de sécurité de l’ITSG-33 et pour accéder à l’outil en ligne, consultez le site Web du CSTC à la page suivante : http://www.cse-cst.gc.ca/fr/publication/list.

Utilisation de supports amovibles pour le transfert de données

L’échange de renseignements entre différents domaines de sécurité représente une nécessité opérationnelle pour les ministères du GC. Pour les ministères qui ne disposent pas déjà d’une solution interdomaine (SID) complète, la solution la plus courante consiste à utiliser des supports amovibles, comme des clés USB ou des disques compacts enregistrables (CD R), pour transférer manuellement des fichiers. Cependant, une telle solution présente des risques pour les deux domaines.

Avant d’autoriser le transfert de données au moyen de supports amovibles, vous devriez tenir compte des enjeux importants de sécurité suivants.

Menaces et risques principaux

Voici les risques principaux : la perte de données sensibles, l’insertion de code malveillant et le transfert de données non autorisé

  • Une perte de données survient lorsque des renseignements sensibles ou classifiés sont transférés au moyen d’un support amovible à des réseaux qui ne sont pas autorisés à protéger ce type de renseignements.
  • Des programmes malveillants sont parfois préchargés dans des supports amovibles afin de faciliter l’accès non autorisé à des renseignements.
  • Les supports amovibles peuvent être égarés ou volés.

Atténuation

Afin de prévenir les pertes de données et l’insertion de code malveillant, tous les fichiers ainsi que les données supplémentaires propres au format des fichiers doivent être balayés au moyen d’un analyseur de virus commercial.

Politique de sécurité robuste pour les supports

Une politique de sécurité robuste pour les supports amovibles permettra d’atténuer les risques et menaces avec la mise en œuvre de contrôles de sécurité appropriés.

Le déploiement d’une solution de transfert de données par supports amovibles doit tenir compte des questions de sécurité susmentionnées et comprendre l’élaboration de politiques et procédures robustes.

Pour plus d’information à ce sujet, communiquez avec les Services à la clientèle de la Sécurité des TI : itsclientservices@cse-cst.gc.ca.

Conseil informatique

Récemment, Adobe a publié la version XI d’Adobe Reader qui comporte des fonctions de sécurité améliorées. Depuis la version 10, l’application comprend une fonction « bac à sable » qui aide à filtrer les documents et à les protéger contre les menaces connues. Pour réussir à s’introduire dans un système, un adversaire doit d’abord exploiter une vulnérabilité dans Adobe Reader, puis utiliser un autre exploit pour quitter le bac à sable, ce qui complique considérablement toute tentative de compromission d’un réseau ministériel. De nombreux ministères du GC utilisent encore d’anciennes versions d’Adobe auxquelles aucun correctif de sécurité disponible n’a été appliqué et qui n’intègrent pas cette technologie de bac à sable, ce qui expose les ministères à un nombre accru de menaces. L’application de correctifs aux applications tierces est l’une des quatre mesures les plus importantes parmi Les 35 mesures d’atténuation les plus efficaces du CSTC. Les fichiers PDF sont couramment utilisés pour transmettre des maliciels au moyen de courriels conçus par ingénierie sociale. Vérifiez sans délai la version Adobe utilisée dans votre ministère. Au besoin, installez les correctifs disponibles ou une version plus récente d’Abode pour renforcer la sécurité et réduire les risques TI.

Solutions pour la gestion des dispositifs mobiles

Les dispositifs mobiles se sont propagés rapidement au sein du GC, car ils permettent aux employés d’augmenter leur productivité et leur efficacité. Cependant, ces dispositifs peuvent également accroître le risque de compromission de l’information sensible. Pour atténuer cette nouvelle menace, le CSTC recommande aux ministères de déployer des solutions de gestion des dispositifs mobiles (GDM) au sein de leur architecture informatique. 

Les solutions GDM permettent de sécuriser, de surveiller, de gérer et de soutenir les dispositifs mobiles déployés sur un réseau, en contrôlant et en protégeant les données et les paramètres de configuration. Elles offrent un large éventail de fonctionnalités, notamment :

  • le contrôle des paramètres de sécurité des dispositifs mobiles (solution de base);
  • l’extension et l’application des politiques et contrôles de sécurité ministériels sur les dispositifs mobiles (solution avancée);
  • l’intégration transparente aux systèmes et services ministériels.

Il convient de noter que les solutions GDM ne peuvent pas ajouter des fonctions et des contrôles de sécurité à un dispositif mobile; elles peuvent seulement utiliser ceux fournis par le dispositif.

Pour déterminer s’il faut autoriser la connexion de dispositifs mobiles à un réseau ministériel, les gestionnaires doivent comprendre que les solutions GDM ne sont pas des solutions miracles permettant de résoudre tous les problèmes de sécurité de ces plateformes. Il faut à la fois prendre en considération les capacités de la solution GDM envisagée ainsi que les contrôles de sécurité qu’ils offrent.

Nouvelles au sujet de la formation en sécurité des TI

Le Centre de formation en sécurité des technologies de l'information (CFSTI) offre différentes possibilités de formation afin de promouvoir le niveau le plus élevé de cybersécurité au sein du gouvernement du Canada. Comme les exigences et les pratiques exemplaires en matière de sécurité des TI sont en constante évolution, le CFSTI met à jour régulièrement ses cours et programmes d’études pour en assurer la pertinence, l’applicabilité et les résultats. Par conséquent, le CFSTI publiera prochainement un nouveau catalogue tenant compte des changements.

L’automne dernier, le CFSTI s’est lancé pour la première fois dans l’apprentissage en ligne, avec un nouveau cours sur l’Autorité de contrôle (AC). Ce cours mixte, comportant à la fois des modules d’apprentissage en ligne et un atelier pratique, vise à présenter des connaissances approfondies sur la gestion des clés cryptographiques dans un réseau et sur l’élaboration d’un plan de soutien lié au matériel de chiffrement (PSMC). Il s’agit du premier de toute une série de cours qui seront mis à la disposition des employés du GC dans un format en ligne au cours prochaines années.

Le Centre de formation en ligne

Pour prendre connaissance de nos programmes d’études actualisés et des autres cours spécialisés ou pour vous inscrire à un cours, veuillez consulter le site Web du CFSTI ou envoyer un courriel :
http://www.cse-cst.gc.ca/fr/group-groupe/its-learning-centre
its-education@cse-cst.gc.ca

Quelles préoccupations de sécurité vous gardent éveillé la nuit?

L’équipe de la Sécurité des TI du CSTC aimerait savoir quels sont les enjeux de sécurité qui s’appliquent à votre ministère.

Veuillez transmettre vos questions, vos préoccupations ou vos idées pour de futurs articles à l’adresse de courriel itsclientservices@cse-cst.gc.ca

Au sujet du présent bulletin

Le Cyberjournal a été créé pour les intervenants et les praticiens des TI du GC et est publié périodiquement. Cette publication concrétise l’engagement de la Sécurité des TI du CSTC à fournir de l’information, des conseils et des recommandations à la collectivité du GC afin d’aider les ministères et les organismes à mieux se protéger contre les cybermenaces. Cette initiative vise à reprendre les principales questions de sécurité et à encourager les discussions au sujet de la sécurité au sein des ministères et organismes. De plus, le bulletin fait le point sur les produits et services clés offerts par le CSTC et indique aux lecteurs comment en profiter pour aider leur organisme du GC à se protéger. Pour améliorer la posture de sécurité du GC, il faut sensibiliser tout le monde à la sécurité. Ainsi, nous vous encourageons à diffuser cette information au sein de votre organisme.

Communiquez avec nous

Pour des conseils d’ordre général et de l’assistance relative aux directives de sécurité, communiquez avec les Services à la clientèle de la Sécurité des TI :
itsclientservices@cse-cst.gc.ca ou Demandes de renseignements généraux : 613-991-7654

Pour signaler un cyberincident, communiquez avec le Centre d’évaluation des cybermenaces :
ctec@cse-cst.gc.ca

Pour toute question relative à un dispositif COMSEC, communiquez avec les Services à la clientèle en matière de COMSEC :
comsecclientservices@cse-cst.gc.ca ou Demandes de renseignements généraux : 613-991-8495

Les gardiens COMSEC peuvent communiquer avec le Centre d’assistance en matière de matériel cryptographique :
cmac-camc@cse-cst.gc.ca ou Demandes de renseignements généraux : 613-991-8600

Pour les services de formation, communiquez avec le Centre de formation en sécurité des TI :
its-education@cse-cst.gc.ca

Abonnement

Pour vous abonner aux prochains numéros, veuillez communiquer avec les Services à la clientèle de la Sécurité des TI à l’adresse suivante : itsclientservices@cse-cst.gc.ca.