Minister’s Statement: Tabling of the CSE Commissioner’s 2017-2018 Annual Report

Today, the 2017-2018 Annual Report of the Communications Security Establishment Commissioner, the Honourable Jean-Pierre Plouffe, was tabled in the House of Commons. The Commissioner’s Annual Report is a valuable tool for ensuring that the Communications Security Establishment (CSE) remains accountable to me, to Parliament and to all Canadians.

In 2017-2018, The Commissioner found that all of the CSE activities reviewed complied with the law. This year, The Commissioner made four recommendations to improve and add clarity to CSE’s current policies and processes, with a view to enhancing compliance and privacy protections. All of these recommendations have been accepted by me and by CSE.

The CSE Commissioner conducts fully independent reviews of activities undertaken by CSE. As a standing priority every year, the Commissioner must review activities carried out by CSE under a Ministerial Authorization. In addition, the Commissioner independently selects other focused reviews to be conducted by his staff during the review period.

I would like to once again thank Commissioner Plouffe and his staff for their diligent work in reviewing the vital work done by CSE and ensuring that CSE remains accountable to Canadians.

Harjit S. Sajjan
Minister of National Defence

Déclaration du ministre : Dépôt du rapport annuel de 2017-2018 du commissaire du CST

Le rapport annuel de 2017-2018 du commissaire du Centre de la sécurité des télécommunications, l’honorable Jean-Pierre Plouffe, a été déposé aujourd’hui devant la Chambre des communes. Le rapport annuel du commissaire est un mécanisme important grâce auquel le Centre de la sécurité des télécommunications (CST) peut me rendre des comptes, ainsi qu’au Parlement et à l’ensemble des Canadiens.

En 2017-2018, le commissaire a conclu que toutes les activités du CST qu’il avait examinées étaient conformes à la loi. Cette année, son rapport contient quatre recommandations visant à améliorer et à rendre plus clairs les processus et les politiques du CST afin d’accroître le respect de la loi et pour renforcer les mesures de protection de la vie privée. Nous avons, le CST et moi-même, accepté toutes ces recommandations.

Le Bureau du commissaire du CST est un organe d’examen entièrement indépendant qui se penche sur les activités menées par le CST. Chaque année, le commissaire se fait une priorité d’examiner les activités que le CST a menées en vertu d’une autorisation ministérielle. De plus, le commissaire décide indépendamment quels examens approfondis doivent être effectués par son personnel au cours de la période d’examen.

J’aimerais remercier encore une fois le commissaire Plouffe et son personnel d’avoir examiné avec diligence les activités essentielles de l’organisme. Grâce à cet examen, le CST est en mesure de rendre des comptes aux Canadiens.

Harjit S. Sajjan
Ministre de la Défense nationale