Protecting Canada’s electronic information and computer networks

In June, 2017 the Government tabled Bill C-59, new national security legislation. Included in this Bill is the CSE Act.
The proposed CSE Act will eliminate the ambiguities about what we are permitted and authorized to do in cyber space.
Read more about our proposed legislation here.

Protecting Canada’s electronic information and computer networks

In addition to our foreign signals intelligence mandate (Part A) and our assistance mandate (Part C), CSE also provides advice, guidance and services to help ensure the protection of electronic information and of information infrastructures of importance to the Government of Canada. This is Part B of our mandate under the National Defence Act.

What does that mean?

CSE has internationally recognized cyber and technical expertise which enables us to respond to threats and attacks against government computer networks and systems, and the important information they contain.

We help protect our systems from foreign states, hackers, and criminals. We track threats from around the world, we monitor government networks to detect cyber threats, and we work with government departments to defend and strengthen systems that have been compromised. We help protect information of value to the government, including personal information, from theft.

With this important mandate, CSE also plays a critical role in the implementation of Canada’s Cyber Security Strategy, which has three objectives:

  1. Securing government systems;
  2. Working with the private sector and governments to protect critical infrastructure; and
  3. Helping Canadians to be secure online.

How are Canadian networks at risk?

Cyber threats — including foreign states, hacktivists, criminals, and terrorists — continually probe government systems, looking for vulnerabilities in order to gain access to a computer. Once they have access, threat actors can steal or distort the information stored on it, corrupt its operations or program it to exploit other computers and the systems to which it is connected.

Government networks are an attractive target for adversaries for many reasons:

  • They house information about the ways in which our government operates.
  • They hold trade secrets, intellectual property and valuable data related to our economy.
  • They are crucial in protecting the lives of our foreign service, military and law enforcement personnel.
  • They contain the personal information of Canadians who rely on these networks for access to government services such as tax returns, employment insurance and passports—information that needs and deserves to be protected.

Cyber-incidents against Government of Canada systems have happened before. In 2011, the systems of Finance Canada and the Treasury Board Secretariat experienced unauthorized cyber intrusions. CSE worked with both departments to limit the damage, and address the vulnerabilities in their systems. The result: more robust, secure systems, and better protected information.

Government of Canada networks by the numbers:

  • More than 57,000 servers
  • 9,000 internet connections

Canadian networks need to be secured from adversaries and the Government of Canada must protect personal information. Securing these systems is not simply a matter of operational efficiency; it is a matter of national security, sovereignty and privacy protection.

How does CSE defend Canadian networks?

CSE’s role in ensuring cyber security includes the following:

  • Securing government networks. Every day, thousands of attempts are made to access and infiltrate government networks. CSE works with departments like Shared Services Canada (SSC) —a government department that provides computer network services and support to other Government of Canada departments—to detect those attempts, block them and repair any damage. We make sure the government’s networks are among the most secure in the world.
  • Defending against cyber threats with advanced knowledge. CSE uses our foreign signals intelligence capabilities and information from our allies to better understand the people and organizations who are trying to exploit our systems and the techniques they try to use. We also learn as much as we can about evolving cyber threats, and the best ways to detect and prevent them. With this knowledge, CSE is better positioned to stop nefarious cyber activities and intrusions before they reach our networks, and your information.
  • Protecting our most sensitive and classified information through encryption. CSE is the lead agency on cryptography (or code-making and code-breaking). We provide the equipment, knowledge and support to ensure the Government's classified communications are protected.
  • Defining Information Technology Security standards for the Government of Canada. CSE is the lead technical agency in the federal government for IT security. Working with the Treasury Board Secretariat – Chief Information Officer Branch, CSE defines IT security standards, practices and technical guidance that should be used by IT security practitioners across the federal government.
  • Commercial Technology Evaluations. To meet the IT security needs of federal government departments, CSE tests and evaluates security products and systems to identify risks and vulnerabilities and work with vendors to improve security in products being considered for government use. We also conduct related technical research and development so that we can stay ahead of the curve, and we post advice on our website for other IT experts and practitioners.
  • Training the Government’s IT security professionals. CSE provides IT security training and awareness programs to all Government of Canada IT security professionals and other employees, through CSE’s IT Security Learning Centre.
  • Helping protect critical systems of other levels of government and the private sector. With our in-depth expertise and knowledge, we work with Public Safety Canada and computer networks and systems operated by other levels of government and the private sector to protect vital computer networks that Canadians rely on.

Protection des réseaux informatiques du Canada

Le 1er août 2019, la Loi sur le Centre de la sécurité des télécommunications (Loi sur le CST) est entrée en vigueur. Nous procédons à la mise à jour de notre site Web pour tenir compte des changements apportés aux pouvoirs confiés au CST et des nouvelles mesures de reddition de comptes et de transparence.

Protecting Canada’s electronic information and computer networks

En plus de son mandat touchant le renseignement électromagnétique étranger (partie A) et de son mandat d'assistance (partie C), le CST fournit des avis, des conseils et des services visant à protéger les renseignements électroniques et les infrastructures d'information importantes pour le gouvernement du Canada. Il s’agit de la partie B de son mandat, en vertu de la Loi sur la défense nationale.

Qu’est-ce que cela signifie?

Le CST dispose d’une expertise technique en cybersécurité reconnue internationalement qui lui permet de contrer les menaces et les attaques contre les réseaux et les systèmes informatiques du gouvernement ainsi que l’information importante qu’ils renferment.

Nous aidons à protéger nos systèmes contre certains États, les pirates informatiques et les criminels étrangers. Nous surveillons les menaces étrangères ainsi que les réseaux du gouvernement afin de détecter les cybermenaces, et nous collaborons avec les ministères afin d'assurer notre défense et de renforcer les systèmes qui ont été compromis. Nous aidons à protéger l’information d’importance pour le gouvernement, y compris l’information personnelle, contre le vol.

En plus d’exercer son important mandat, le CST joue un rôle essentiel dans la mise en œuvre de la Stratégie de cybersécurité du Canada, qui comporte trois principaux objectifs :

  1. sécuriser les systèmes du gouvernement;
  2. nouer des partenariats avec des intervenants des secteurs public et privé dans le but de protéger les cybersystèmes essentiels;
  3. aider les Canadiens à sécuriser leurs activités en ligne.

À quels risques s'exposent les réseaux canadiens?

Les cybermenaces proviennent notamment de certains États étrangers, de criminels, d’hacktivistes ou de terroristes qui sondent continuellement les réseaux du gouvernement à l'affût de failles pouvant leur donner accès aux divers ordinateurs. Lorsqu'ils parviennent à leurs fins, les auteurs de menaces peuvent voler ou altérer de l’information, ou encore corrompre les systèmes informatiques, voire les programmer pour en faire des outils d'exploitation des autres systèmes auxquels ils sont connectés.

Les réseaux du gouvernement constituent des cibles de choix pour les adversaires, et ce, pour de nombreuses raisons :

  • Ils hébergent de l'information concernant les opérations du gouvernement.
  • Ils renferment des secrets commerciaux, des données sur la propriété intellectuelle, ainsi que de l’information importante sur l’économie du Canada.
  • Ils sont essentiels à la protection de la vie du personnel œuvrant au service extérieur, dans les forces armées et dans les services d’application de la loi.
  • Ils contiennent des renseignements personnels devant être protégés, à juste titre, au sujet des Canadiens, qui dépendent de ces réseaux pour accéder aux services gouvernementaux, notamment en ce qui a trait aux déclarations de revenus, à l’assurance-emploi et aux passeports.

Des cyberincidents touchant les systèmes du gouvernement du Canada sont déjà survenus. En 2011, les systèmes de Finances Canada et du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada ont fait l’objet de cyberintrusions. Le CST a travaillé avec ces deux ministères en vue de limiter les préjudices subis et de se pencher sur les vulnérabilités de leurs systèmes. Grâce à ces efforts, ces systèmes ont été renforcés, leur sécurité a été améliorée et l’information est désormais mieux protégée.

Les réseaux du gouvernement du Canada en chiffres :

  • Plus de 57 000 serveurs
  • 9 000 connexions à Internet

Les réseaux canadiens doivent être protégés contre les adversaires, et le gouvernement du Canada doit protéger les renseignements personnels. La protection de ces systèmes n’est pas qu'une question simple d’efficacité opérationnelle; c’est aussi une question de sécurité nationale, de défense de la souveraineté et de protection de la vie privée.

Comment le CST protège-t-il les réseaux canadiens?

Le rôle du CST en matière de cybersécurité comprend les éléments suivants :

  • La protection des réseaux du gouvernement. Tous les jours, des milliers de tentatives d’infiltration des réseaux du gouvernement sont effectuées. Le CST collabore avec des ministères – notamment Services partagés Canada (SPC) – qui est chargé de fournir des services de réseau et du soutien aux autres ministères du gouvernement du Canada, en vue de détecter et de contrer ces tentatives d’intrusion, et de réparer les préjudices, le cas échéant. L'organisme veille à ce que les réseaux du gouvernement soient parmi les plus sécuritaires au monde.
  • La défense contre les cybermenaces grâce à des connaissances avancées. Le CST utilise ses capacités en matière de renseignement électromagnétique étranger ainsi que l’information provenant de ses alliés pour mieux caractériser les individus et les organisations qui tentent d’exploiter les systèmes du Canada, et pour définir les techniques qu’ils utilisent. Nous tentons également de suivre l’évolution des cybermenaces et de trouver les meilleures façons de les détecter, voire de les prévenir. Grâce à ces connaissances, le CST est mieux placé pour contrer les cyberactivités nuisibles et les cyberintrusions avant qu’elles n’atteignent nos réseaux ou encore vos renseignements personnels.
  • La protection de nos renseignements hautement sensibles et classifiés grâce au chiffrement. Le CST est l’organisme responsable de la cryptographie (chiffrement et décryptage). Nous offrons l’équipement, les connaissances et le soutien nécessaires afin de veiller à ce que les communications classifiées du gouvernement soient protégées.
  • La définition de normes en matière de sécurité des technologies de l’information pour le gouvernement du Canada. Le CST est l'organe technique du gouvernement fédéral responsable de la sécurité des TI. En collaboration avec la Direction du dirigeant principal de l’information du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada, le CST définit les normes, les pratiques et les directives techniques en matière de sécurité des TI, que doivent respecter les professionnels de la sécurité des TI à l’échelle du gouvernement fédéral.
  • Les évaluations des technologies commerciales. Pour répondre aux besoins en matière de sécurité des TI des ministères, le CST met à l’essai et évalue des produits et systèmes de sécurité en vue d’en repérer les risques et les vulnérabilités. Il collabore également avec les fournisseurs, afin d’améliorer la sécurité des produits que le gouvernement envisage d’utiliser. En outre, nous menons des activités de recherche et développement afin de rester au fait des technologies. Nous affichons nos conseils sur notre site Web pour le bénéfice d'autre spécialistes et praticiens du domaine des TI.
  • La formation des professionnels de la sécurité des TI du gouvernement. Le CST offre des programmes de formation et de sensibilisation en matière de sécurité des TI à tous les professionnels du domaine et autres employés du gouvernement du Canada par l’entremise du Centre de formation en sécurité des TI du CST.
  • L’aide à la protection des systèmes essentiels d’autres ordres de gouvernement et du secteur privé. Grâce à notre vaste expertise et à nos connaissances approfondies, nous aidons également Sécurité publique Canada à sécuriser les réseaux informatiques essentiels et les systèmes exploités soit par d’autres ordres de gouvernement soit par le secteur privé, pour protéger les réseaux informatiques importants desquels dépendent les Canadiens.