Artefacts of CSE

From its roots in the Second World War to the present day, CSE’s story stretches back more than 70 years. The videos featured here highlight some of the historical artefacts contained in the CSE museum at our headquarters in Ottawa.

Episode 1: U-190 and ENIGMA

Episode 1: U-190 and ENIGMA

On May 8th, 1945, the European front of Second World War ended with Germany’s unconditional surrender. 500 miles off the coast of Newfoundland and Labrador, German submarine U-190 surfaces and surrenders to Canadian warships the HMCS Victoriaville and the HMCS Thorlock.

The Royal Canadian Navy escorted U-190 to harbour where the German crew signed formal surrender papers and the U-boat became the property of the RCN. On board the submarine RCN personnel recovered a German Enigma machine. The Enigma machine recovered on U-190 is now part of CSE’s collection of historical artifacts.

Watch our video Episode 1: U-190 and ENIGMA

 

 
 
Episode 2: HYDRA and ROCKEX

Episode 2: HYDRA and ROCKEX

In 1941, as Axis powers tighten their grip on occupied Europe, secure communication among Allied forces becomes more important than ever. Responding to this need, Canadian engineers at Camp X design and deploy HYDRA.

Watch our video Episode 2: HYDRA and ROCKEX

Objets historiques du CST

L’histoire du CST s’étend sur plus de 70 ans, de ses débuts pendant la Deuxième Guerre mondiale à aujourd’hui. Les vidéos que vous trouverez ici présentent certains des artéfacts historiques que l’on retrouve dans le musée du CST, à l’édifice Edward-Drake à Ottawa.

Episode 1: U-190 and ENIGMA

Édition no 1: Le sous-marin U-190 et la machine ENIGMA

Le 8 mai 1945, l’Allemagne capitule sans condition, mettant un terme à la Deuxième Guerre mondiale sur le front européen. Près de 500 kilomètres au large des côtes de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador, le sous-marin allemand U-190 fait surface et se rend aux navires de guerre canadiens NCSM Victoriaville et NCSM Thorlock.

La Marine royale canadienne (MRC) escorte le U-190 au port, où l’équipage allemand signe les documents officiels de capitulation. Le U-190 devient alors la propriété de la MRC. La machine Enigma saisie à bord du U-190 fait désormais partie de la collection d’objets historiques du CST.

Regardez notre vidéo Édition no 1: Le sous-marin U-190 et la machine ENIGMA

 

 
 
Édition no 2: HYDRA et ROCKEX

Édition no 2: HYDRA et ROCKEX

En 1941, les forces de l’Axe resserrent leur emprise sur une Europe occupée et des communications sûres et fiables deviennent plus importantes que jamais pour les forces Alliées. C’est pour répondre à ce besoin que les ingénieurs du Camp X ont conçu et déployé HYDRA.

Regardez notre vidéo Édition no 2: HYDRA et ROCKEX