Cyber Threats To Canada's Democratic Process

How The Democratic Process Is Targeted

This section details three key aspects of Canada’s democratic process and how each is vulnerable to cyber threats.

Target: Elections

  • Key threat: Prevent citizens from registering
  • Key threat: Prevent voters from voting
  • Key threat: Tamper with the election results
  • Key threat: Steal voter database

Federal, provincial/territorial, and municipal election agencies carry out elections across Canada. While the activities of these agencies will vary, every election involves these essential phases:

  1. Registering voters: Determining who is eligible to vote;
  2. Voting: Receiving, counting, and recording the votes; and
  3. Disseminating results: Informing the public of the election results.

Decades ago, elections were entirely paper-based. Today, as Figure 4 shows, there is a variety of both paper-based and electronic systems used to carry out elections in Canada. While we cannot consider the specifics of every electoral jurisdiction in Canada, what follows below is a general description of the three election phases and the ways in which they may be vulnerable to cyber threats.

 

Figure 4: Target: Elections

Government Level Voter Registry Vote Vote Count Dissemination
ResultsFootnote 6
Federal Digital Paper Paper Internet
Provincial/Territorial DigitalFootnote 1 Paper PaperFootnote 2 Internet
Municipal DigitalFootnote 3 PaperFootnote 4 PaperFootnote 5 Paper
Legend
Paper
Paper

Process is conducted using paper

Digital
Digital

Process uses electronic devices that are not regularly connected to the Internet (e.g. to scan paper ballots or to store information digitally)

Internet
Internet

Process is conducted on the Internet (e.g. online voting)

 
1:

Online voter registration is available for Alberta, British Columbia, Northwest Territories, Prince Edward Island, and Saskatchewan.

Return to footnote 1 referrer

2:

New Brunswick only.

Return to footnote 2 referrer

3:

Some municipalities across Canada offer online voter registration.

Return to footnote 3 referrer

4:

Some municipalities in Nova Scotia (36%) and Ontario (22%) use Internet voting.

Return to footnote 4 referrer

5:

Some municipalities use machines to count paper ballots; for those that use Internet voting, the count is also online.

Return to footnote 5 referrer

6:

Unofficial results are provided on election night. In most cases, election results are certified (i.e. offical results) days or weeks following election night.

Return to footnote 6 referrer

 

Registering Voters

For every election, there is a process that determines the eligibility of voters. Only those voters meeting particular criteria (e.g. minimum age and/or residency requirements) are allowed to vote. In Canada, all levels of government maintain and update voter registration lists.Endnote 6

If voter registration occurs online, adversaries could use cyber capabilities to pollute the database with fake voter records. They could also render the website inaccessible or have it display misleading information. Moreover, they could attempt to erase or encrypt the data and thereby make it unavailable.

All of this activity has the potential to embarrass the electoral agency and sow doubt in the minds of voters. It could also slow down voting, leading to voter frustration and/or suppression, which could impact election results. It is also possible that the voter database – potentially containing millions of personal identity records – could be stolen, resulting in a massive breach of privacy.

 

Voting

Voting is the process by which an eligible voter casts a ballot for a candidate. Most voting occurs on Election Day but also on advance poll dates and via absentee ballots. In Canada, voters cast their votes via three main methods: paper ballot, electronic voting machine, or the Internet.Endnote 7 After the polls close, the votes are counted and the results are tabulated. Paper ballots can be counted by hand or by using a digital vote tabulation machine. Internet votes are also tabulated digitally.

Neither digital vote tabulation nor electronic voting machines are typically connected to the Internet, but sophisticated adversaries could tamper with these machines prior to their use. For example, an adversary could cause them to improperly count ballots, or wipe all data at the end of the night. Internet voting presents many more opportunities to adversaries, who can use cyber capabilities, for example, to “stuff the ballot box” or to render the voting website inaccessible.

 

Disseminating Results

In most elections, there is more than one polling place. After the polls close, and counting at the polling stations is finished, the count totals from each polling station must be transmitted to a centralized location. In many elections, the election authority provides frequent updates of the tallies to the public via a website. The same results may be sent directly to the media. Transmitting this vote count can be done by hand, by phone, and/or by Internet. If done using the Internet, adversaries could use cyber capabilities to disrupt or change the vote results while they are in transmission.

If this tampering were discovered, and if there were robust safeguards in place (e.g. paper ballots that can be recounted), the correct results could eventually emerge. However, the delay and confusion would likely reduce the public’s trust in the process and perhaps impact the winner’s ability to govern. In the worst case, it could even lead to challenging the results of the election, sparking a democratic challenge.

 

If this tampering were not discovered, then the vote count would be covertly changed to select one candidate (or party) over another. Covertly changing election results using cyber capabilities is difficult, but not impossible, for an elite handful of adversaries. An adversary’s decision to try – as well as the odds of success – would depend on the safeguards and risk mitigation activities incorporated into the election system.

Cybermenaces contre le processus démocratique du Canada

Comment le processus démocratique est-il ciblé?

Dans cette section, nous expliquerons les trois aspects clés du processus démocratique du Canada et leurs vulnérabilités aux cybermenaces.

Cible : les élections

  • Menace : Empêcher les citoyens de s’inscrire pour voter.
  • Menace : Empêcher les électeurs de voter.
  • Menace : Trafiquer les résultats des élections.
  • Menace : Voler des bases de données sur les électeurs.

Les organismes électoraux fédéraux, provinciaux, territoriaux et municipaux sont responsables de l’organisation des élections partout au Canada. Les activités de ces organismes peuvent varier légèrement, cependant, toutes les élections comptent ces trois phases essentielles :

  1. L’inscription des électeurs : on y détermine qui a le droit de voter;
  2. Le vote : on reçoit, compte et consigne les votes;
  3. La diffusion des résultats : on informe le public des résultats des élections.

Il y a plusieurs décennies, le processus de vote se déroulait entièrement sur papier. Mais aujourd’hui, comme le montre la figure 4, le processus du scrutin, au Canada, se déroule à la fois électroniquement et sur papier. Nous ne pouvons pas explorer les moindres détails de chaque organisme électoral canadien, mais vous trouverez ci-dessous une description globale des trois phases des élections et leurs vulnérabilités aux cybermenaces.

 

Figure 4 : Cible : Les élections

Ordre de gouvernement Inscriptions Vote Comptage Diffusion des résultats Notes en fin de texte 6
Fédéral Numérique Papier Papier Internet
Provincial / Territorial NumériqueNote de bas de page 1 Papier PapierNote de bas de page 2 Internet
Municipal NumériqueNote de bas de page 3 PapierNote de bas de page 4 PapierNote de bas de page 5 Papier
Légende
Papier
Papier

Le processus se déroule sur papier

Numérique
Numérique

Le processus se déroule à l'aide de dispositifs électroniques qui ne sont habituellement pas connectés à Internet (p. ex. pour numériser les bulletins papier ou stocker des renseignements sous forme numérique)

Internet
Internet

Le processus se déroule sur Internet (p. ex. vote en ligne)

 
1:

Les électeurs de l’Alberta, de la Colombie-Britannique, des Territoires du Nord-Ouest, de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard et de la Saskatchewan peuvent s’inscrire en ligne.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page1

2:

Seulement au Nouveau-Brunswick.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page2

3:

Certaines municipalités canadiennes permettent aux électeurs de s’inscrire en ligne.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page3

4:

Certaines municipalités de la Nouvelle-Écosse (36 %) et de l’Ontario (22 %) utilisent le vote en ligne.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page4

5:

Certaines municipalités utilisent des machines pour compter les bulletins de vote en papier; les votes sur Internet sont aussi comptés en ligne.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page5

6:

Les résultats non officiels sont diffusés pendant la soirée des élections. Dans la plupart des cas, les résultats des élections sont certifiés (c.-à-d. les résultats officiels) quelques jours ou semaines après la journée des élections.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page6

 

L’inscription des électeurs

Toute élection comprend un processus visant à déterminer si les électeurs ont bel et bien le droit de vote. Seuls les électeurs qui répondent à des critères précis (p. ex. âge minimum, exigences liées au lieu de résidence) ont le droit de voter. Au Canada, tous les ordres de gouvernement dressent et tiennent à jour des listes d’inscription des électeursNotes en fin de texte 6.

Si l’inscription des électeurs se déroule en ligne, les adversaires peuvent utiliser leurs cybercapacités pour tenter de polluer la base de données avec de faux fichiers d’électeurs. Ils peuvent aussi essayer de rendre le site Web inaccessible ou y inscrire de faux renseignements pour induire les électeurs en erreur. De plus, ils peuvent tenter d’effacer ou de chiffrer les données de manière à les rendre impossibles à consulter.

Toutes ces activités ont le potentiel de mettre les organismes électoraux dans l’embarras et de faire germer des doutes dans l’esprit des électeurs. Elles peuvent aussi ralentir le processus de scrutin, frustrer les électeurs ou leur donner un sentiment de répression, ce qui peut avoir une incidence sur les résultats des élections. Enfin, il est aussi possible que les bases de données sur les électeurs puissent être volées, et comme elles contiennent les renseignements personnels de millions de personnes, un tel cas représenterait une immense violation de la vie privée.

 

Le vote

Le vote est le moment où les électeurs exercent leur droit de vote pour un candidat. La majorité des électeurs votent le jour des élections, mais ils peuvent aussi voter par anticipation ou grâce à un bulletin de vote pour électeur absent. Au Canada, les électeurs peuvent voter à l’aide de trois méthodes : bulletin papier, machine à voter ou vote par Internet.Notes en fin de texte 7. Ensuite, après la fermeture des bureaux de vote, les votes sont comptés et les résultats sont compilés. Les bulletins de vote papier peuvent être comptés à la main ou à l’aide d’une machine électronique de comptage des votes. Les votes par Internet sont comptés électroniquement plutôt qu’à la main.

Généralement, les machines de comptage des votes et les machines à voter ne sont pas connectées à Internet, mais des adversaires possédant des capacités avancées pourraient trafiquer les machines avant qu’elles ne soient utilisées dans le cadre du scrutin. Les adversaires pourraient trafiquer les machines de manière à fausser le comptage des bulletins de vote ou à effacer les données à la fin de la soirée des élections. Le vote par Internet offre de plus nombreuses occasions de frappe aux adversaires qui peuvent utiliser leurs cybercapacités pour « remplir les urnes » ou rendre inaccessible le site Web où se déroule le vote, pour ne citer que ces deux exemples.

 

La diffusion des résultats

Dans la grande majorité des élections, on compte plus d’un seul bureau de vote. Après la fermeture des bureaux de vote, lorsque les bulletins ont été comptés, le total des voix doit être communiqué à un bureau de vote central. Dans le cadre de nombreuses élections, cette autorité centrale du scrutin fournit publiquement sur un site Web de nombreuses mises à jour sur les compilations des votes. De plus, les résultats peuvent être communiqués directement aux médias. La diffusion des résultats du comptage des votes peut être faite à la main, par téléphone ou par Internet. Si les résultats sont communiqués par Internet, des adversaires pourraient faire appel à leurs cybercapacités pour perturber ou modifier les résultats des élections pendant leur transmission.

Si l’on découvre la cybermenace à temps et si des mesures rigoureuses de sécurité sont en place (p. ex. si l’on dispose de bulletins de vote en papier que l’on peut recompter), les vrais résultats du scrutin pourront être connus. Toutefois, les délais de traitement et la confusion seraient susceptibles de réduire la confiance du public envers le processus et pourraient avoir des effets négatifs sur la capacité de la personne gagnante à gouverner. Dans le pire des cas, cette situation pourrait mener à une remise en question des résultats des élections, ce qui représenterait un important défi démocratique.

 

Si la cybermenace passe inaperçue, les résultats des élections auront alors été secrètement modifiés pour sélectionner un candidat, ou un parti, au détriment des autres. Modifier les résultats d’élections à l’aide de cybercapacités serait ardu, mais à la portée de quelques adversaires exceptionnellement doués. La décision pour un adversaire d’essayer de modifier les résultats d’un scrutin et ses chances d’y parvenir dépendent des mesures de sécurité et des activités d’atténuation des cybermenaces intégrées au système électoral.