Cyber Threats To Canada's Democratic Process

Canada's Democratic Process

In this assessment we restrict our analysis of the democratic process to three key aspects that adversaries can target: (1) elections; (2) political parties and politicians; and (3) the media (see Figure 1).

Elections are at the core of any democracy. They are the way that citizens select their representatives and their government. For an orderly and peaceful transition of power to take place, citizens must trust that the outcome of an election is valid and free from interference. This is why democratic elections must be carried out in a transparent way, in which observers can verify every step of the process.

Political parties and politicians are the political institutions and individuals competing for power in an election. They represent the interests of voters and seek to generate support for domestic and foreign policies which they believe are in the best interest of Canadians.

The media is where discourse between politicians and voters most often occurs. By media we mean both traditional media (e.g. newspapers and television news networks) and social media.

These three aspects of the democratic process are so important that they are protected by Canada’s constitution. The Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms guarantees Canadians the right to select their members of parliament in a free and fair election. The Charter also protects Canadians’ right to freedom of expression and belief – including allowing citizens to freely engage, challenge, and propagate ideas in public. The Charter also specifically protects the freedom of the press.

Trust is at the core of all aspects of the democratic process. For democracy to work, citizens need to trust that the process is fair, that politicians are not beholden to foreign or criminal interests, and that the media is not influenced by foreign or criminal interests attempting to sway voters and the outcome of the democratic process.

Figure 1: Canada's democratic process

Figure 1 - Description

Elections

What: Electoral bodies and their infrastructure; the voting process

Threat: Prevent voters from registering online, prevent citizens from voting, tamper with the election results, steal voter database

Political Parties and Politicians

What: Websites, email, etc. of politicians, candidates, and political parties

Threat: Conduct cyberespionage against a political target, embarrass or discredit a political target, blackmail a political target, steal voter or party member database

The Media

What: Traditional and social media; how Canadians receive information and interact with the democratic process

Threat: Manipulate traditional and social media in order to influence the political discussion and/or reduce trust in the democratic process

Cybermenaces contre le processus démocratique du Canada

Processus démocratique du Canada

Dans la présente évaluation, nous limiterons notre analyse à trois aspects clés du processus démocratique que nos adversaires peuvent cibler : (1) les élections; (2) les partis politiques et les politiciens; et (3) les médias (voir la figure 1).

Les élections sont au cœur de toute démocratie. Elles permettent aux citoyens de choisir leurs représentants et leur gouvernement. Pour qu’un changement de pouvoir ait lieu de façon ordonnée et pacifique, les citoyens doivent pouvoir être assurés que les résultats d’une élection sont valides et qu’ils n’ont fait l’objet d’aucune ingérence. C’est pourquoi les élections démocratiques doivent être effectuées avec transparence et en permettant à des observateurs de vérifier chaque étape du processus.

Les partis politiques et les politiciens sont les institutions politiques et les personnes qui rivalisent pour être portées au pouvoir lors d’élections. Ils représentent les intérêts des électeurs et cherchent à générer du soutien envers les politiques nationales et étrangères qu’ils considèrent être dans l’intérêt supérieur des Canadiens.

Les médias sont le théâtre de la majorité des interactions entre les politiciens et les électeurs. On entend par les médias les médias traditionnels (p. ex. journaux, chaînes de nouvelles télévisées) et les médias sociaux.

Ces trois aspects du processus démocratique sont tellement importants que leur protection est enchâssée dans la Constitution du Canada. En effet, la Charte canadienne des droits et libertés garantit aux Canadiens le droit de choisir les députés qui les représenteront au Parlement au cours d’élections libres et justes. La Charte protège aussi le droit de liberté d’expression et de conscience des Canadiens, ce qui permet notamment aux citoyens de présenter des idées en public, de les propager et d’en débattre. De plus, la Charte protège expressément la liberté de la presse.

La confiance est au cœur de tous les aspects du processus démocratique. Pour que la démocratie triomphe, les citoyens doivent pouvoir être certains que le processus est juste, que les politiciens ne sont pas redevables à des intérêts étrangers ou criminels et que les médias ne sont pas influencés par des intérêts étrangers ou criminels qui tentent de manipuler l’opinion des électeurs et le résultat du processus démocratique.

Figure 1 : Processus démocratique du Canada

Figure 1 - Description

Élections

Cibles : organismes électoraux et leur infrastructure; processus de vote

Menaces : empêcher les électeurs de s’inscrire en ligne, empêcher les citoyens de voter, modifier les résultats des élections, voler des bases de données sur les électeurs

Partis politiqueset politiciens

Cibles : sites Web, courriels, (etc.)des politiciens, des candidatset des partis politiques

Menaces : mener des activitésde cyberespionnage contre une cible politique, mettre dans l’embarras ou discréditer une cible politique, exercer du chantage contre une cible politique, voler des bases de données sur les électeurs ou les membres du parti

Médias

Cibles : médias traditionnelset médias sociaux; la manièredont les Canadiens consomment les actualités et interagissent avec le processus démocratique

Menaces : manipuler les médias traditionnels et les médias sociaux afin d’influencer la discussion politique ou de réduire la confiance du public envers le processus démocratique