Cyber Threats To Canada's Democratic Process

Introduction

The recent cyber threat activity against political institutions and personal communications of politicians around the world has raised concerns about the cybersecurity of the democratic process in Canada. In this document we assess the cyber threats facing Canada’s democratic process.

To better understand the threat environment, CSE examined cyber threat activity against democratic processes, both in Canada and around the world, over the past ten years. We identify how key aspects of the democratic process (i.e. elections, political parties and politicians, and the media) are vulnerable to cyber threat activity and influence operations. We consider the democratic process at the federal, provincial/ territorial, and municipal levels of government in Canada. We introduce some common cyber capabilities and how Canada’s adversaries could use these capabilities to influence the democratic process. We then describe the different types of adversaries that could use these cyber capabilities and what the threat is to Canada.

Finally, by combining our knowledge of recent history and our understanding of current trends in cyber capabilities and Canada’s adversaries, we assess how the cyber threats to Canada’s democratic process are likely to evolve.

Cybermenaces contre le processus démocratique du Canada

Introduction

Les récentes activités liées aux cybermenaces contre des institutions politiques et les communications personnelles de politiciens partout dans le monde suscitent des inquiétudes par rapport à la cybersécurité du processus démocratique du Canada. Dans le présent document, nous évaluerons les cybermenaces qui ciblent le processus démocratique du Canada.

Pour mieux comprendre le contexte de la menace, le CST a étudié les cybermenaces ayant ciblé les processus démocratiques au Canada et dans le reste du monde au cours des dix dernières années. Puis, dans la présente évaluation, nous définirons comment les aspects clés du processus démocratique (c.-à-d. les élections, les partis politiques, les politiciens et les médias) sont vulnérables aux cybermenaces et aux opérations d’influence. Nous nous pencherons sur les processus démocratiques canadiens des ordres de gouvernement fédéral, provincial, territorial et municipal. Nous vous présenterons certaines cybercapacités communes et la manière dont les adversaires du Canada peuvent utiliser ces capacités pour influencer le processus démocratique. Ensuite, nous décrirons les différents types d’adversaires qui pourraient faire appel à ces cybercapacités et la menace qu’ils représentent pour le Canada.

Enfin, en combinant nos connaissances de l’histoire récente et notre compréhension des tendances liées aux cybercapacités et aux adversaires du Canada, nous évaluerons comment les cybermenaces contre le processus démocratique du Canada sont susceptibles d’évoluer.