Cyber Threats To Canada's Democratic Process

Global Trends And The Threat To Canada

Global Baseline Of Known Events

CSE has examined dozens of incidents over the past ten years in which adversaries used cyber capabilities to target the democratic process. These incidents victimized almost 40 nations, on five different continents, and include some of the richest – and poorest – nations in the world. Given the covert nature of many of these activities, we assume that there is likely to be a significant number of incidents for which we have no visibility.

Strategic and incidental threats

Over the past ten years, the majority of adversary activity against the democratic process has been strategic (approximately 80 percent). This means that adversaries took action for the express purpose of influencing the democratic process. About three-quarters of this strategic activity have been of medium or high sophistication. The remaining 25 percent mostly involved cybercriminals stealing voter information and was mostly low-sophistication activity.

Of the strategic activity observed, 53 percent of the time adversaries targeted more than one aspect of the democratic process. Electoral activities were targeted just over half the time (53 percent), followed by political parties and politicians (47 percent) and media (46 percent). Therefore, all three aspects of the democratic process appear to attract adversaries.

Worryingly, there is an upward trend in the amount of cyber threat activity against democratic processes. So far, in 2017, 13 percent of countries holding national elections have had their democratic process targeted. We judge that it is highly probable that cyber threat activity against democratic processes worldwide will increase in quantity and sophistication over the next year, and perhaps beyond that.

There are a number of factors that contribute to this increase in cyber threat activity.

  • Many effective cyber capabilities are readily available, cheap, and easy to use.
  • Deterring cyber threat activity is challenging. We are unable to attribute about 20 percent of incidents to a particular adversary. Of those incidents that are attributed, most appear to have gone unpunished.
  • The rapid growth of social media coupled with the decline in longstanding authoritative sources of information make it easier for adversaries to use cyber capabilities and other methods to inject disinformation and propaganda into the media to influence voters.
  • Elections and election agencies are adopting more online processes, making them more vulnerable to cyber threats.
  • There is a dynamic of success emboldening adversaries to repeat their activity, and to inspire copycat behaviour.

Figure 14: Targeting of democratic processes related to a national election, globally

Figure 14 - Description
Year Number of Elections Number Targeted
2012 55 2
2013 60 4
2014 62 4
2015 59 3
2016 65 8

Cybermenaces contre le processus démocratique du Canada

Les tendances mondiales et la menace envers le Canada

Données de référence mondiales sur les événements connus

Au cours des dix dernières années, le CST a étudié des dizaines d’incidents où des adversaires ont ciblé le processus démocratique au moyen de cybercapacités. Ces incidents, qui ont visé près de 40 pays sur cinq continents différents, mettent en cause certains des pays les plus riches – et les plus pauvres – au monde. Comme bon nombre de ces activités sont menées secrètement, nous supposons qu’un grand nombre d’entre elles restent probablement dans l’ombre.

Menaces stratégiques et indirectes

Au cours des dix dernières années, la majorité des activités menées par des adversaires contre le processus démocratique ont été stratégiques (environ 80 p. 100). Cela signifie que les adversaires ont pris des mesures dans le but précis d’influencer le processus démocratique. Environ trois quarts de ces activités stratégiques employaient des méthodes moyennement ou grandement sophistiquées. Quant aux 25 p. 100 restants, il s’agissait principalement d’activités peu sophistiquées menées par des cybercriminels afin de voler des renseignements sur les électeurs.

Dans 53 p. 100 des cas d’activités stratégiques observés, les adversaires ciblaient plus d’un aspect du processus démocratique. Les activités électorales étaient ciblées un peu plus de la moitié du temps (53 p. 100), suivies des partis politiques et des politiciens (47 p. 100), puis des médias (46 p. 100). Par conséquent, les adversaires semblent s’intéresser aux trois aspects du processus démocratique.

On constate une hausse inquiétante des cybermenaces contre les processus démocratiques. À ce jour, en 2017, des adversaires ont ciblé le processus démocratique de 13 p. 100 des pays qui ont tenu des élections fédérales. Nous croyons qu’il est très probable que les cybermenaces contre les processus démocratiques à l’échelle mondiale seront plus nombreuses et plus sophistiquées au cours de l’année à venir, et peut-être même à plus long terme.

De nombreux facteurs contribuent à cette hausse des cybermenaces.

  • De nombreuses cybercapacités sont disponibles au public, abordables et faciles à utiliser.
  • Il est difficile de prévenir les cybermenaces. Nous sommes incapables d’attribuer environ 20 p. 100 des incidents à un adversaire en particulier. De plus, il semblerait que la plupart des incidents attribués à un adversaire soient demeurés impunis.
  • L’expansion rapide des médias sociaux, jumelée au déclin des sources d’information traditionnelles faisant autorité, rend la tâche plus facile aux adversaires qui utilisent leurs cybercapacités et d’autres méthodes pour faire de la désinformation et de la propagande dans les médias afin d’influencer les électeurs.
  • Les organismes électoraux adoptent de plus en plus de processus en ligne, ce qui les rend plus vulnérables aux cybermenaces.
  • La réussite des auteurs de cybermenaces enhardit nos adversaires qui répètent leurs exploits et inspirent d’autres auteurs à imiter leurs comportements.

Figure 14 : Ciblage des processus démocratiques liés à des élections nationales, partout dans le monde

Figure 14 - Description
Année Nombre des élections Number des élections qui ont été ciblés
2012 55 2
2013 60 4
2014 62 4
2015 59 3
2016 65 8