Cyber Threats To Canada's Democratic Process

Explaining Cyber Threat Activity

Cyber Capabilities: Sophisticated Uses

As discussed earlier, cybercriminals and thrill-seekers use cyber capabilities for financial gain or for the thrill of it. We are more concerned with adversaries who use cyber capabilities strategically, with the express intent of covertly influencing the democratic process. As with any type of tool, cyber capabilities can be used in amateurish or sophisticated ways.

When assessing the sophistication of these strategic threats to the democratic process, we consider a combination of three things:

  1. Technical sophistication of the cyber capabilities: Some cyber capabilities are easily obtained on the Internet and require little skill to deploy. More sophisticated capabilities, however, are custom-designed for a particular set of circumstances (e.g. to gain access to a particular smartphone or computer network) and require much more skill to build and deploy.
  2. Knowledge of Canada’s democratic process and how it can be manipulated: Canada’s democratic process includes elections, political parties and politicians, media, and other institutions, ideas, and events that, when taken together, constitute a very complicated and dynamic environment. More sophisticated strategic threat activity reflects an understanding of the environment of a democratic process and how it could be influenced through the use of cyber capabilities.
  3. Ability to orchestrate activities and people: An individual acting alone is far less likely to influence a democratic process than an adversary that can coordinate a number of activities and groups of people. More sophisticated adversaries make use of organizational and financial capacity, which is often built up over time.

In general, we assume that the more sophisticated the use of cyber capabilities, the more likely it is to influence the outcome of a given democratic process (see Figure 11 below). However, as noted in point two above, a democratic process is a complicated and dynamic environment, and many things besides adversaries influence a democratic process and can account for its outcome. In general, it is very difficult to say whether a given set of adversary activities has influenced the outcome of a given democratic process and to what extent.

Figure 11: Description of sophistication

Level Of Sophistication Sophistication Characteristics Adversaries Observed
Low
  • Uses a single, simple cyber capability
  • Single target
  • Little or no planning involved
  • Likely impact: nuisance, no lasting effect on anybody
  • Nation-states, hacktivists, cybercriminals, political actors, thrill-seekers
Medium
  • A few cyber capabilities used competently
  • More than one target
  • Planning required
  • Likely impact: Multiple people affected, divert time and resources to dealing with activity
  • Nation-states, hacktivists, political actors
High
  • Several cyber capabilities used expertly
  • Numerous targets
  • Extensive, long-term planning and coordination
  • Likely impact: numerous people affected and forced to divert significant time and resources to counter the activity
  • Nation-states, political actors
 

To illustrate how adversaries use cyber capabilities strategically to influence the democratic process, we present two hypothetical case studies. The first is a description of activities designed to sway public opinion against a political candidate. The second is a description of activities in which cyberespionage is used to obtain campaign strategy documents and personal information to benefit a political rival.

Cybermenaces contre le processus démocratique du Canada

Des explications au sujet des cybermenaces

Utilisation sophistiquée des cybercapacités

Comme nous l’avons mentionné plus tôt, les cybercriminels et les amateurs de sensations fortes se servent de leurs cybercapacités pour des motifs économiques ou pour le plaisir qu’ils en retirent. Nous sommes davantage préoccupés par les adversaires qui utilisent des cybercapacités stratégiques avec pour objectif clair d’exercer secrètement une influence sur le processus démocratique. Comme tout autre outil, les cybercapacités peuvent être utilisées avec amateurisme ou sophistication.

Lorsque nous évaluons la sophistication de ces menaces stratégiques contre le processus démocratique, nous tenons compte d’une combinaison de trois éléments :

  1. Sophistication technique de la cybercapacité : Certaines cybercapacités sont faciles à obtenir sur Internet et il n’est pas nécessaire de très bien s’y connaître pour les déployer. Par contre, les cybercapacités plus sophistiquées sont conçues sur mesure pour répondre à un ensemble défini de circonstances (p. ex. pour accéder à un téléphone intelligent ou un réseau informatique particulier) et il faut beaucoup plus de connaissances pour les mettre sur pied et les déployer;
  2. Connaissance du processus démocratique du Canada et de la façon dont on peut le manipuler : Le processus démocratique du Canada comprend les élections, les partis politiques, les politiciens, les médias et autres institutions, les idées et les événements qui, rassemblés, forment un environnement très complexe et dynamique. Les cybermenaces stratégiques plus sophistiquées démontrent une compréhension de l’environnement du processus démocratique et de la manière dont on peut exercer une influence à l’aide de cybercapacités;
  3. Capacité d’orchestrer des activités et mobiliser des groupes : Une personne agissant seule est beaucoup moins susceptible d’être en mesure d’influencer le cours du processus démocratique qu’un adversaire qui peut coordonner plusieurs activités et groupes de personnes. Les adversaires les plus doués utilisent des capacités organisationnelles et financières, souvent mises sur pied au fil du temps.

Généralement, on présume que plus les cybercapacités utilisées sont sophistiquées, plus il est probable qu’elles puissent avoir des répercussions sur les résultats d’un processus démocratique (voir la figure 11 ci-dessous). Cependant, comme nous l’avons mentionné dans le deuxième point ci-dessus, un processus démocratique est un environnement complexe et dynamique et plusieurs facteurs autres que les adversaires peuvent influencer un processus démocratique et jouer un rôle dans son dénouement. Il est habituellement très difficile de déterminer si les activités des adversaires ont exercé une influence sur les résultats d’un processus démocratique et, le cas échéant, dans quelle mesure.

Figure 11 : Niveaux de sophistication

Niveau de sophistication Caractéristiques de la sophistication Adversaires observés
Faible
  • Utilise une seule et simple cybercapacité
  • Une seule cible
  • Peu ou pas de planification
  • Répercussions probables : nuisance, aucun effet à long terme sur qui que ce soit
  • États-nations, hacktivistes, cybercriminels, acteurs politiques, amateurs de sensations fortes
Moyen
  • Quelques cybercapacités utilisées avec compétence
  • Plus d’une cible
  • Planification requise
  • Répercussions probables : plusieurs personnes touchées, du temps et des ressources sont nécessaires pour régler le problème
  • États-nations, hacktivistes, acteurs politiques
Élevé
  • Plusieurs cybercapacités utilisées avec expertise
  • Nombreuses cibles
  • Planification et coordination à long terme et exhaustives
  • Répercussions probables : nombreuses personnes touchées et contraintes à investir beaucoup de temps et de ressources pour contrer la cybermenace
  • États-nations, acteurs politiques
 

Dans la prochaine section, nous vous présenterons deux études de cas fictives afin d’illustrer comment les adversaires utilisent stratégiquement leurs cybercapacités pour influencer le processus démocratique. La première étude de cas décrit des activités conçues pour influencer l’opinion publique en défaveur d’un candidat politique. La deuxième étude de cas décrit comment le cyberespionnage peut servir à obtenir des documents stratégiques d’une campagne politique et des renseignements personnels pour donner un avantage à un rival politique.