Cyber Threats To Canada's Democratic Process

About CSE

The Communications Security Establishment (CSE) is Canada’s centre of excellence for cyber operations. As one of Canada’s key security and intelligence organizations, CSE protects the computer networks and information of greatest importance to Canada and collects foreign signals intelligence. CSE also provides assistance to federal law enforcement and security organizations in their legally authorized activities, when they may need CSE’s unique technical capabilities.

CSE protects computer networks and electronic information of importance to the Government of Canada, helping to thwart state-sponsored or criminal cyber threat activity on our systems. In addition, CSE’s foreign signals intelligence work supports government decision-making in the fields of national security and foreign policy, providing a better understanding of global events and crises and helping to further Canada’s national interests in the world.

As a result, CSE plays an integral role in helping to protect Canada and Canadians against foreign-based terrorism, foreign espionage, cyber threat activity, kidnappings of Canadians abroad, attacks on our embassies, and other serious threats with a significant foreign element, helping to ensure our nation’s security, stability, and prosperity.

Cybermenaces contre le processus démocratique du Canada

À propos du CST

Le Centre de la sécurité des télécommunications (CST) est le centre canadien d’excellence en matière de cyberopérations. Le CST est l’un des principaux organismes de sécurité et de renseignement du Canada. Il protège les réseaux informatiques et les renseignements de grande importance du Canada et procède à la collecte de renseignement électromagnétique étranger. Le CST fournit également de l’assistance aux organismes chargés de l’application de la loi et de la sécurité dans leurs activités légalement autorisées lorsqu’ils requièrent l’expertise unique de l’organisme.

Le CST travaille à la protection des réseaux informatiques et des renseignements électroniques d’importance pour le gouvernement du Canada, afin d’aider à contrer les activités parrainées par un État et les cybermenaces criminelles contre nos systèmes. De plus, les activités de renseignement électromagnétique étranger du CST appuient les processus décisionnels du gouvernement en matière de sécurité nationale et de politique étrangère; elles permettent aux décideurs de mieux comprendre les crises et événements mondiaux, et de promouvoir les intérêts du Canada dans le monde.

Le CST joue un rôle important dans la protection du Canada et des Canadiens contre le terrorisme basé à l’étranger, l’espionnage étranger, les cybermenaces, l’enlèvement de Canadiens à l’étranger, les attentats visant nos ambassades et autres menaces graves de la part d’entités étrangères importantes, en vue d’aider à assurer la prospérité, la sécurité et la stabilité de notre pays.