Canadian Centre for Cyber Security

The Canadian Centre for Cyber Security was established on October 1, 2018.
Take a look at the new website for the Cyber Centre.

backgrounder-fiche-information

Overview

The Government of Canada believes that a safe and secure cyber space is important for the security, stability and prosperity of the country. Digital technologies and the internet are increasingly important to innovation and economic growth, and good cyber security is critical to Canada’s competitiveness, economic stability, and long-term prosperity.

Cyber defence is a team sport. Government, industry, academia, and civil society must all work together to strengthen Canada’s cyber security. The 2016 Cyber Review Consultations, led by Public Safety, identified some of the key issues that require governmental changes:

  • Clear points of accountability on cyber security;
  • Better coordination and collaboration between departments;
  • Greater clarity on how and with whom the private sector should engage; and
  • Greater federal leadership on cyber security.

Consolidating the key cyber security operational units of the Government of Canada into a single new cyber security centre responds to the call from the Cyber Review for more focused federal management on cyber security issues.

As a key initiative of the 2018 National Cyber Security Strategy the cyber security functions from three departments will be united to establish the Canadian Centre for Cyber Security (the Cyber Centre) as one unique, innovative, and forward-looking organization, as part of the Communications Security Establishment (CSE).

The creation of the Cyber Centre is a major milestone in the way the government approaches cyber security.

Establishing the Canadian Centre for Cyber Security

The Canadian Centre for Cyber Security (Cyber Centre) will offer a unified approach to cyber security that will build on Canada’s already world-class cyber security expertise.  It will centralize cyber innovation and collaboration for the country and be a place where private and public sectors work side-by-side to solve Canada’s most complex cyber issues. The Cyber Centre will be a single unified source of expert advice, guidance, services and support on cyber security for government, critical infrastructure owners and operations, the private sector and the Canadian public. With the Cyber Centre, Canadians will have a clear and trusted place to turn to for cyber security issues.

Specifically, the Cyber Centre will enable faster, better-coordinated, and more focused Government responses to cyber threats. It will provide quicker, more effective information flow between the Government and private sector partners. The Cyber Centre will provide a clear national point of contact for authoritative cyber security advice and assistance. The Cyber Centre will also provide enhanced public awareness and education about cyber security, will improve cyber security skills sharing and information, and will provide more regular cyber threat assessments to better inform decision-making and inform federal policy on cyber security. As an outward-facing organization, the Cyber Centre will welcome collaborative partnerships and projects with the Canadian cyber security sector.

The Cyber Centre will focus on:

  • Informing Canada and Canadians about cyber security matters, as a single, clear, trusted source of information on cyber security for Canadians and businesses
  • Protecting Canadians’ cyber security interests through targeted advice, specific guidance, direct hands-on assistance, and strong collaborative partnerships
  • Developing and sharing specialized cyber defence technologies and tools resulting in better cyber security for all Canadians
  • Defending cyber systems, including government systems, by deploying sophisticated cyber defence solutions
  • Acting as the operational leader and government spokesperson during cyber security events

Ultimately, the Cyber Centre will mean stronger cyber protection, defence, and security for the Government, the private sector, and all Canadians.

Skilled and Talented Employees

The Cyber Centre will unite approximately 750 employees from existing cyber security operations units at Public Safety Canada, Shared Services Canada, and the Communications Security Establishment into one unique, innovative, and forward-looking organization, as part of CSE.

  • From Public Safety Canada, all functions of the Canadian Cyber Incident Response Centre (CCIRC) and the Get Cyber Safe public awareness campaign will be transferred to the Cyber Centre. 
  • From Shared Services Canada, some of the functions of the Security Operations Centre will be transferred to the Cyber Centre. 
  • From CSE, the entire IT Security branch will be transformed to become part of the Cyber Centre.

Cyber Centre teams will leverage the strengths and special tools from each of CSE, Public Safety Canada, and Shared Services Canada, and work more effectively together.  They will look for places where best practices and creative and innovative approaches are at work.  They will draw from the strengths and use the best of what the Cyber Centre has to create one unified source of cyber expertise in Canada.   

What will the Cyber Centre do for the Federal Government?

The Cyber Centre will be the primary centralized voice and resource for senior leadership in Government on cyber security operational matters, including incident management, situational awareness, and technical advice and guidance. It will defend Government of Canada systems, and respond to significant cyber security threats and incidents to reduce and mitigate harm to the Federal Government. It will also be a central resource for Government of Canada departments in support of their sector lead roles by sharing consistent and well-informed cyber security advice and guidance as well as technical capabilities.

The Centre will be a single authoritative source of technical cyber security expertise to support lead agencies in the delivery of their core functions, including collaborating with the RCMP on its planned National Cybercrime Coordination Unit and its law enforcement efforts to address cybercrime. It will also improve the effectiveness of the monitoring and response capabilities in defending Government of Canada systems against cyber threats.

What will the Cyber Centre do for external partners?

The Cyber Centre will be the primary Federal Government point of contact on cyber security operational matters, including incident response and coordination. It will monitor the cyber security environment and use that understanding to identify, address, and share knowledge about systemic threats, risks and vulnerabilities. The Cyber Centre will reduce cyber security risks to Canada by providing expert advice, guidance, services and support quickly and efficiently.

What will the Cyber Centre do for Canadians?

The Cyber Centre will inform, communicate, and educate Canadians about cyber security issues by providing a clear, trusted, credible voice backed up by unique expertise and insight.  The Cyber Centre will act as the operational leader and government spokesperson during cyber security events and will provide leadership on national cyber security issues.

New Building

The Cyber Centre will be an outward-facing organization that welcomes industry partners for collaborative work on the toughest cyber security challenges Canada is facing. The vision for the Cyber Centre as an open organization requires a separate, external-facing, publicly-accessible facility located within the national capital region. 

The Cyber Centre within the Communications Security Establishment (CSE)

The Communications Security Establishment (CSE) has helped protect the security of Canadians for over 70 years by providing critical foreign intelligence about threats to national security and deployed military forces, and by protecting Canada’s most sensitive information and information systems.

CSE was chosen as the department where the consolidation of cyber security operational talent could happen most effectively. CSE already possesses the necessary legal authorities, the largest portion of the existing infrastructure and personnel, and the required privacy protection mechanisms to successfully deliver the Cyber Centre. 

Milestones

  • February 27, 2018: Announcement of the Canadian Centre for Cyber Security in Budget 2018
  • June 2018 : Announcement of the first head of the Cyber Centre
  • Fall 2018: Initial Operational Capability of the Cyber Centre
  • Summer 2019: Opening of the new facility for the Cyber Centre
  • Spring 2020: Full Operational Capability for the Cyber Centre

Centre canadien pour la cybersécurité

Le Centre canadien pour la cybersécurité a été mis sur pied le 1er octobre 2018.
Consultez son nouveau site Web.

backgrounder-fiche-information

Aperçu

Le gouvernement du Canada croit qu’un cyberespace sécurisé est une condition essentielle à la stabilité et à la prospérité de notre pays. L’innovation et la croissance économique dépendent de plus en plus des technologies numériques et d’Internet, et la cybersécurité est essentielle à la compétitivité, à la stabilité économique et à la prospérité à long terme du Canada.

La cyberdéfense est un véritable sport d’équipe. Le gouvernement, le secteur privé, le milieu universitaire et les membres de la société civile doivent travailler tous ensemble pour renforcer la cybersécurité au Canada. L’examen sur la cybersécurité mené par Sécurité publique Canada en 2016 a permis de cerner des enjeux clés qui exigeront des changements de la part du gouvernement :

  • les centres de responsabilité en matière de cybersécurité devront être mieux définis;
  • les mécanismes de coordination et de collaboration entre ministères devront être améliorés;
  • les mécanismes de collaboration avec le secteur privé devront être clarifiés;
  • le leadership fédéral en matière de cybersécurité devra être renforcé.

Le regroupement des principales unités opérationnelles de cybersécurité du gouvernement du Canada en un seul nouveau centre pour la cybersécurité donne suite aux conclusions de l’examen sur la cybersécurité selon lesquelles la gestion des questions de cybersécurité doit être mieux ciblée au fédéral.

L’une des initiatives clés de la Stratégie nationale de cybersécurité de 2018, le Centre canadien pour la cybersécurité (CCC) réunira des employés provenant des unités opérationnelles de cybersécurité de trois ministères. Ces employés auront l’occasion de travailler au sein d’un organisme de pointe unique et axé sur l’avenir.

La mise sur pied du CCC représente un important jalon dans la façon dont le gouvernement aborde la cybersécurité.

Mise sur pied du Centre canadien pour la cybersécurité

Le Centre canadien pour la cybersécurité (CCC) préconisera une approche unique en matière de cybersécurité, qui permettra de tabler sur l’expertise de classe mondiale que le Canada a déjà acquise dans le domaine de la cybersécurité. Le CCC se trouvera au cœur de l’innovation et de la collaboration dans le domaine de la cybersécurité. Des représentants des secteurs privé et public pourront y travailler côte à côte pour régler les problèmes les plus complexes du domaine au Canada. Le CCC représentera une source unifiée d’avis, de conseils, de services et de soutien spécialisés en matière de cybersécurité pour le gouvernement, les propriétaires et exploitants des infrastructures essentielles, le secteur privé et les citoyens. Il offrira aux Canadiens et Canadiennes un endroit de confiance vers lequel ils pourront se tourner pour les questions liées à la cybersécurité.

Plus particulièrement, le CCC permettra au gouvernement d’intervenir plus rapidement et de manière mieux coordonnée et ciblée face aux cybermenaces. Il permettra d’acheminer l’information plus rapidement et efficacement entre le gouvernement et les partenaires du secteur privé, et servira de point de contact national où obtenir des avis et des conseils faisant autorité en matière de cybersécurité. De plus, le CCC permettra de mieux sensibiliser et informer le public au sujet de la cybersécurité, améliorera l’information sur la cybersécurité et l’échange de compétences dans le domaine, et fournira des évaluations périodiques des cybermenaces pour mieux éclairer la prise de décisions. Ce sera un organisme tourné vers l’extérieur qui travaillera en collaboration avec des partenaires du secteur canadien de la cybersécurité.

Le CCC remplira les fonctions suivantes :

  • Informer les Canadiens au sujet des questions de cybersécurité, et agir comme source claire et fiable d’information en matière de cybersécurité pour les citoyens et les entreprises du Canada. 
  • Protéger les intérêts des Canadiens en matière de cybersécurité en offrant des conseils ciblés, des directives précises et de l’assistance pratique directe, et en créant des partenariats solides.
  • Développer et diffuser des technologies et des outils de cyberdéfense spécialisés qui permettront d’assurer la cybersécurité de tous les Canadiens.
  • Défendre les systèmes canadiens importants en développant des solutions de cyberdéfense sophistiquées.
  • Agir à titre de chef de file et de porte-parole du gouvernement lorsque surviennent des événements de cybersécurité.

Essentiellement, le Centre pour la cybersécurité renforcera la cyberprotection, la cyberdéfense et la cybersécurité du gouvernement, du secteur privé et de tous les Canadiens.

Employés compétents et talentueux

Le CCC réunira, sous l’égide du CST, près de 750 employés provenant des unités opérationnelles de cybersécurité de Sécurité publique Canada, de Services partagés Canada et du Centre de la sécurité des télécommunications (CST). Ces employés auront l’occasion de travailler au sein d’un organisme de pointe unique et axé sur l’avenir.

  • Dans le cas de Sécurité publique Canada, il s’agira de l’ensemble du Centre canadien de réponse aux incidents cybernétiques (CCRIC) et des équipes responsables de la campagne Pensez cybersécurité
  • Quant à Services partagés Canada, seules des parties du Centre des opérations de sécurité seront transférées au CCC.  
  • Au CST, le secteur de la Sécurité des TI sera transformé et ses fonctions réaménagées au sein du CCC.

En misant sur les forces et les outils spécialisés des trois organismes, les équipes du CCC pourront travailler de manière plus efficace, et tenteront de trouver des secteurs ayant adopté des pratiques exemplaires, de même que des approches créatives et novatrices. Elles feront appel aux forces de chacun et aux ressources à leur disposition pour créer une source unifiée de cyberexpertise au Canada.

Quels rôles le Centre canadien pour la cybersécurité jouera-t-il auprès du gouvernement fédéral?

Il constituera une ressource centralisée auprès des hauts dirigeants du gouvernement pour tout ce qui touche aux questions opérationnelles de cybersécurité, notamment à la gestion des incidents, à la connaissance de la situation, et à la prestation de directives et de conseils techniques. Il défendra les systèmes du gouvernement canadien et interviendra en cas de menace à la cybersécurité et d’incident dans le but d’atténuer les préjudices subis par le gouvernement fédéral. Il agira à titre de ressource centrale auprès des ministères du gouvernement du Canada et fournir un soutien à leurs principaux intervenants en leur prodiguant des directives et des conseils éclairés en matière de cybersécurité et en leur fournissant des capacités techniques.

Le CCC agira comme chef de file faisant autorité en matière de technologie de cybersécurité, de manière à soutenir les organismes concernés dans l’exercice de leurs fonctions centrales respectives, notamment, en collaborant avec la GRC relativement au Centre national de coordination de la lutte contre la cybercriminalité et à son mandat d’application de la loi visant à contrer la cybercriminalité. Enfin, il accroîtra l’efficacité des activités de surveillance et d’intervention visant à protéger les systèmes du gouvernement du Canada contre les cybermenaces.

Quels rôles le Centre canadien pour la cybersécurité jouera-t-il auprès des partenaires externes?

Le CCC agira comme principal point de contact du gouvernement sur les questions opérationnelles de cybersécurité, dont les interventions et les efforts de coordination en cas d’incident. Il surveillera le contexte de la cybersécurité et en tirera des conclusions qui permettront de cerner les menaces, les risques et les vulnérabilités systémiques, et d’alerter les partenaires. Enfin, il permettra de réduira les risques auxquels le Canada est confronté sur le plan de la cybersécurité en prodiguant des conseils d’expert, de l’orientation, des services et du soutien avec rapidité et efficacité.

Quels rôles le Centre canadien pour la cybersécurité jouera-t-il auprès des Canadiens et Canadiennes?

Le CCC aura pour rôle d'informer, de communiquer et de sensibiliser les Canadiens concernant les questions de cybersécurité, en tenant un discours clair, fondé et crédible livré par ses experts. Il tiendra lieu de chef de file relativement aux questions nationales de cybersécurité et agira à titre de porte-parole du gouvernement fédéral pour les volets techniques et opérationnels des événements de cybersécurité.

Nouvel édifice

Le CCC sera un organisme tourné vers l’extérieur qui accueillera les partenaires de l’industrie afin de s’attaquer ensemble aux plus grands défis que pose la cybersécurité. La vision proposée pour le CCC, en tant qu’organisme ouvert, exige un édifice accessible au public et situé dans la région de la capitale nationale. 

Le Centre canadien pour la cybersécurité au sein du Centre de la sécurité des télécommunications

Le CST aide à assurer la sécurité des Canadiens depuis plus de 70 ans, en produisant du renseignement étranger de premier plan sur les menaces contre la sécurité nationale du Canada et ses forces armées déployées et en protégeant les informations et les systèmes d’information les plus sensibles du Canada.

Le CST a été choisi pour héberger le CCC puisqu’il est le mieux placé pour rassembler efficacement les employés ayant des compétences opérationnelles en cybersécurité. Le CST dispose déjà des autorisations légales nécessaires, de la majeure partie de l’infrastructure et du personnel, et des mécanismes de protection de la vie privée requis. 

Jalons

  • 27 février 2018 : Annonce dans le budget concernant le Centre canadien pour la cybersécurité
  • Juin 2018 : Annonce du premier dirigeant du Centre
  • Automne 2018 : Capacité opérationnelle initiale
  • Été 2019 : Ouverture de la nouvelle installation
  • Printemps 2020 : Capacité opérationnelle totale