The Beginning: The Communications Branch of the National Research Council

Signals Intelligence (SIGINT) comes from the interception of signals that are often encrypted to protect the secrecy of the information they carry. Although enciphering and deciphering information has been around as far back as recorded history, the cryptologic history of signals is relatively new, beginning with the latter part of the industrial age.

The interception of signals and the protection of government telecommunications has been the Communications Security Establishment’s mission focus since it was first established in 1946 as the Communications Branch of the National Research Council of Canada (CBNRC).

The CBNRC was formed at the end of the Second World War by combining the two wartime cryptologic offices; the civilian Examination Unit (XU) and the military Joint Discrimination Unit (JDU). After much political debate over the need for a national peacetime cryptologic agency, an Order in Council was signed in April 1946, effectively creating the Communications Branch of the NRC. On September 3, 1946, the 179 former employees of the XU and JDU came back to work together at their new jobs in the CBNRC under the direction of retired Lt. Col. Edward Drake.

Their mission was to continue the work they were doing during the war with as little disruption as possible to the collaboration that had developed between Canada, the United States and the United Kingdom on the sharing of Signals Intelligence.

Au commencement : la Direction des télécommunications du Conseil national de recherches

Le renseignement électromagnétique (SIGINT) provient de l'interception de signaux qui sont souvent cryptés afin de protéger les informations qu'ils transmettent. Bien que le cryptage et le décryptage de messages existent depuis que le monde est monde, l'histoire de la cryptologie des signaux est relativement récente. En fait, elle a commencé vers la fin de l'ère industrielle.

Intercepter des signaux tout en protégeant les télécommunications du gouvernement du Canada est la mission première du Centre de la sécurité des télécommunications Canada depuis sa création en 1946. Mais à l'époque, le CST se nommait la Direction des télécommunications du Conseil national de recherches du Canada (DTCNR).

La DTCNR a été mise sur pied à la fin de la Seconde Guerre mondiale en combinant les deux organismes de cryptographie du temps de la guerre : soit le bureau civil, nommé Sous-section de l'examen (XU) et le bureau militaire, nommé Joint Discrimination Unit (JDU). Après de nombreux débats politiques sur le besoin d'un organisme de cryptologie en temps de paix, un décret a été signé en avril 1946 créant ainsi la Direction des télécommunications du CNR. Le 3 septembre de la même année, les employés de la XU et de la JDU ont rejoint les rangs de la DTCNR sous la direction d’un lieutenant-colonel à la retraite : Edward Drake.

Ils avaient pour mission de poursuivre l'échange de renseignement électromagnétique qui avait été mis sur pied pendant la guerre entre le Canada, les États-Unis et le Royaume-Uni.