Tutte Institute for Mathematics and Computing

Tutte Institute Video

The Tutte Institute for Mathematics and Computing. The first of its kind in Canada, the institute conducts classified research into cryptology and knowledge discovery.

Read more: Tutte Institute Video

The Tutte Institute is a world-class facility that is the first of its kind in Canada

Our Partners

Collaboration and partnership is imperative to the work of the Tutte Institute for Mathematics and Computing (TIMC).

Read more: The Tutte Institute is a world-class facility that is the first of its kind in Canada

Tutte Institute Video

Our Expertise

The Tutte Institute conducts classified research in fundamental mathematics and computer science, with a research focus in two distinct areas: Cryptology and Knowledge Discovery and Data Mining

Read more: A glimpse into the Tutte Institute's Lecture Hall

Photo: A glimpse into the Tutte Institute's Lecture Hall

Job Opportunities

The work is challenging but meaningful. TIMC researchers are making a difference: tackling real-world problems in the unique fields of mathematical and computational research, and helping protect the lives of Canadians and of our Allies.

Read more: The Tutte Institute is a world-class facility that is the first of its kind in Canada

The Tutte Institute is a world-class facility that is the first of its kind in Canada

William T. Tutte

As a young mathematician and codebreaker, William T. Tutte deciphered a series of German military encryption codes and made an unsurpassed contribution to the success of the British wartime assault on enemy codes and ciphers at Bletchley Park.

Read more: William T. Tutte

Photo: William T. Tutte

The Tutte Institute for Mathematics and Computing (TIMC) is a world-class mathematical and computational institute.  It conducts classified research in the areas of cryptology and knowledge discovery with a mission to support the Canadian Cryptologic Program and its international partners by providing leading-edge solutions to emerging complex problems.  These solutions have real-life implications for the security of Canadians and of our Allies.

The TIMC was recently established within Canada's national cryptologic agency, the Communications Security Establishment Canada (CSEC). The first classified research institute of its kind in Canada, it works in partnership with a network of distinguished mathematicians, computer scientists and engineers at the national and international level; leading researchers from Canadian and international universities and research institutes; and various Canadian governmental agencies.

Based in Ottawa, Ontario, the institute is housed in a state-of-the-art facility operating on an advanced collaborative work model. It is here that the best minds in the mathematical and computational research field come together to solve some of the most challenging and intricate problems of our day.

Institut Tutte pour les sciences des mathétiques et du calcul

Vidéo: L'Institut Tutte

l’Institut Tutte pour les mathématiques et le calcul. Le premier en son genre au Canada, l’institut mène des recherches classifiées dans les domaines de la cryptologie et de la découverte de connaissances.

En savoir plus: Vidéo: L'Institut Tutte

Vidéo: L'Institut Tutte

Partenaires

La collaboration et les partenariats sont essentiels au travail de l'ITMC.

En savoir plus: L'Institut Tutte, une installation de classe mondiale, est le premier du genre au Canada.

L'Institut Tutte, une installation de classe mondiale, est le premier du genre au Canada

Notre expertise

L'Institut effectue des recherches classifiées sur les principes fondamentaux des mathématiques et de l'informatique en se concentrant sur les deux secteurs distincts suivants : la cryptologie et la découverte de connaissances et l'exploration de données.

En savoir plus: Photo : Aperçu de la salle de conférence de l'Institut Tutte.

Photo : Aperçu de la salle de conférence de l'Institut Tutte.

Offres d'emploi

Le travail est complexe, mais important. Les chercheurs de l'ITMC font une contribution remarquable en se penchant sur des problèmes du monde réel dans les domaines uniques de la recherche mathématique et computationnelle en vue de protéger les vies des Canadiens, des Canadiennes et de ses alliés.

En savoir plus: L'Institut Tutte, une installation de classe mondiale, est le premier du genre au Canada

L'Institut Tutte, une installation de classe mondiale, est le premier du genre au Canada

William T. Tutte

Alors jeune mathématicien et cryptanalyste, William T. Tutte a décrypté une série de codes chiffrés de l'armée allemande et a contribué de façon inégalée aux succès de l'armée britannique grâce au décryptage des codes de l'ennemi à Bletchley Park.

En savoir plus: William T. Tutte

Photo: William T. Tutte

L'Institut Tutte pour les sciences des mathématiques et du calcul (ITMC) est un institut de sciences des mathématiques et du calcul de renommée mondiale. Il effectue de la recherche classifiée dans les domaines de la cryptologie et de la découverte de connaissances en vue d'appuyer le programme cryptologique canadien ainsi que ses partenaires internationaux en fournissant des solutions avant-gardistes aux problèmes complexes émergents. Ces solutions ont des retombées concrètes sur la sécurité des Canadiens et des Canadiennes et de ses alliés.

L'ITMC a récemment été établi au sein de l'organisme national de cryptologie du Canada, le Centre de la sécurité des télécommunications Canada (CSTC). L'ITMC est le premier institut de recherche classifiée du genre au Canada. Il travaille en partenariat avec un réseau de mathématiciens, d'informaticiens et d'ingénieurs éminents à l'échelle nationale et internationale; dirige des chercheurs d'instituts et d'universités canadiennes et internationales; collabore avec divers organismes gouvernementaux du Canada.

L'institut est établi à Ottawa (en Ontario) dans une installation de pointe fonctionnant selon un modèle collaboratif avancé. C'est là que les plus brillants esprits du domaine de la recherche en mathématiques et en calcul se rencontrent pour résoudre certains des problèmes les plus complexes de notre époque.