Cryptographic Module Validation Program (CMVP)

List of Validated Products under Cryptographic Module Validation Program (FIPS 140-1 and FIPS 140-2).

NVLAP-accredited Cryptographic and Security Testing (CST) laboratories

CSEC and the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) jointly announced the establishment of the Cryptographic Module Validation Program (CMVP) on July 17, 1995. NIST is a non-regulatory federal agency within the U.S. Commerce Department's Technology Administration (* Official Languages Notice). The CMVP validates commercial cryptographic modules to Federal Information Processing Standard (FIPS) 140-2 and other cryptography based standards such as algorithms. The CMVP is jointly managed by NIST and CSEC. Products validated as conforming to FIPS 140-1 or FIPS 140-2 are accepted by the Federal agencies of both countries for the protection of sensitive information (United States) or Protected Information (Canada). The goal of the CMVP is to promote the use of validated cryptographic modules and provide Federal agencies with a security metric to use in procuring equipment containing validated cryptographic modules. In the CMVP, vendors of commercial cryptographic modules use independent, accredited Cryptographic and Security Testing (CST) laboratories to have their modules tested. Laboratories accredited by National Voluntary Laboratory Accreditation Program (NVLAP) or by Standards Council of Canada (SCC) perform cryptographic module compliance/conformance testing.

Prior to May 25, 2002, commercial cryptographic modules were validated for conformance to the FIPS 140-1, Security Requirements for Cryptographic Modules. Effective May 26, 2002, this standard was superseded by the FIPS 140-2, Security Requirements for Cryptographic Modules. However, Agencies may continue to purchase, retain and use FIPS 140-1 validated products after May 25, 2002. The FIPS 140-2 specifies the security requirements that will be satisfied by a cryptographic module utilized within a security system protecting protected information. The standard provides four increasing, qualitative levels of security: Level 1, Level 2, Level 3 and Level 4. These levels are intended to cover the wide range of potential applications and environments in which cryptographic modules may be employed. The security requirements cover 11 areas related to the secure design and implementation of a cryptographic module. These areas include cryptographic module specification; cryptographic module ports and interfaces; roles, services and authentication; finite state model; physical security; cryptographic key management; electromagnetic interference/electromagnetic compatibility (EMI/EMC); self-tests; design assurance; and mitigation of other attacks. A FIPS 140-2 validation certificate is issued for each validated module.

An overall rating is issued for the cryptographic module, which indicates (1) the minimum of the independent ratings received in the areas with levels, and (2) fulfillment of all the requirements in the other areas. It is important for vendors and users of cryptographic modules to realize that the overall rating of a cryptographic module is not necessarily the most important rating. The rating of an individual area may be more important than the overall rating, depending on the environment in which the cryptographic module will be implemented (this includes understanding what risks the cryptographic module is intended to address).

Prior to using any cryptographic module, organizations should request the vendor to provide a copy of its FIPS 140-1 or FIPS 140-2 validation certificate, as evidence of CMVP validation, or, as a minimum, the validation certificate number. The version number of the deployed cryptographic module should be identical to the number listed for the claimed certificate, and it can be verified on-line.

The main website for the NIST/CSEC CMVP is hosted by NIST, and contains complete details on the program, all the related standards and documents, as well as the official lists of FIPS 140-1 and FIPS 140-2 validated cryptographic modules and FIPS 140-1 and FIPS 140-2 Vendors.

Testing Requirements

NVLAP accredited Cryptographic and Security Testing (CST) laboratories perform validation testing of cryptographic modules. Cryptographic modules are tested against requirements found in FIPS 140-2, Security Requirements for Cryptographic Modules. Cryptographic module validation testing is performed using the Derived Test Requirements for FIPS PUB 140-2 document. The document lists all of the vendor and tester requirements for validating a cryptographic module, and provides the basis of testing performed by the CST accredited laboratories.

FIPS 140-3

CSEC and NIST have begun the review and update of FIPS 140-2 to keep the standard consistent with current technologies, to incorporate suggestions from federal departments as well as vendors, and to update and strengthen the requirements in key areas of the standard. FIPS 140-3 is expected to include significant changes in the areas of physical and software security, and module assurance. The discovery of new non-invasive attacks will be reflected in the new standard. The standard will also better define and strengthen the requirements for software modules.

For More Information

Government of Canada clients should contact CSEC for information on approved configuration and usage of validated modules.

For more information regarding the CMVP, please contact:

IT Security Client Services
Tel: 613-991-7654
Email: itsclientservices@cse-cst.gc.ca

Programme de validation des modules cryptographiques (PVMC)

Liste des produits validés en vertu du Programme de validation des modules cryptographiques (FIPS 140-1 et FIPS 140-2).

Laboratoires accrédités par le NVLAP pour l'évaluation de modules cryptographiques et de sécurité

Le Programme de validation des modules cryptographiques (PVMC) a été instauré conjointement par le CSTC et le National Institute et Standards and Technology (NIST) des états-Unis le 17 juillet 1995. Le NIST est un organisme fédéral, non régi par des règlements, au sein de la division de l'administration des technologies du ministère américain du commerce (* Avis concernant les langues officielles). Le PVMC valide des modules cryptographiques commerciaux selon la Federal Information Processing Standard (FIPS) 140-2 et selon d'autres normes de cryptographie (algorithmes). Le PVMC est conjointement géré par le NIST et le CSTC. Les produits validés, et se conformant à la FIPS 140-1 ou à la FIPS 140-2, sont acceptés par les organismes fédéraux des deux pays pour la protection d'information sensible (les états-Unis) ou l'information protégée (le Canada). Le but du PVMC est de promouvoir l'utilisation de modules cryptographiques validés et de fournir aux organismes fédéraux une mesure de sécurité à utiliser dans l'approvisionnement de l'équipement contenant des modules cryptographiques validés. Dans le cadre du PVMC, les vendeurs de modules cryptographiques et de sécurité commerciaux utilisent des laboratoires indépendants et accrédités pour faire évaluer leurs modules. Les essais de validation sont effectués par des laboratoires accrédités soit par le NVLAP (National Voluntary Laboratory Accreditation Program), soit par le Conseil canadien des normes pour l'évaluation à la conformité de modules cryptographiques.

Avant le 25 mai 2002, les modules cryptographiques commerciaux étaient validés en fonction de la norme FIPS 140-1, Exigences de sécurité relatives aux modules cryptographiques (en anglais seulement). Dès le 26 mai 2002, cette norme a été remplacée par la FIPS 140-2, Exigences de sécurité relatives aux modules cryptographiques (en anglais seulement). Cependant, les organismes peuvent toujours continuer à acheter, à conserver et à utiliser les produits validés selon la norme FIPS 140-1. La FIPS 140-2 précise les exigences de sécurité auxquelles devra satisfaire un module cryptographique utilisé dans un système de sécurité protégeant l'information protégée. La norme fournit quatre niveaux qualitatifs de sécurité : le Niveau 1, le Niveau 2, le Niveau 3 et le Niveau 4. Ces niveaux sont destinés à couvrir le grand choix d'applications et d'environnements potentiels dans lesquels des modules cryptographiques peuvent être employés. Les exigences de sécurité couvrent 11 domaines liés à la conception et à la mise en œuvre sûres d'un module cryptographique. Ces domaines incluent : spécifications du module cryptographique; ports et interfaces du module cryptographique; rôles, services et authentification; modèle d'états finis; sécurité physique; gestion des clés cryptographiques; compatibilité/interférence électromagnétiques (EMI/EMC); auto-tests; assurance de la conception; et réduction d'autres attaques. Un certificat de validation en vertu de la norme FIPS 140-2 est émis pour chaque module validé.

Une cote générale est attribuée au module cryptographique indiquant (1) les cotes individuelles les moins élevées attribuées dans les domaines comportant des niveaux, et (2) le respect de toutes les exigences dans les autres domaines. Il est important que les fournisseurs et les utilisateurs de modules cryptographiques soient conscients du fait que la cote générale attribuée à un module cryptographique n'est pas nécessairement la plus importante. La cote attribuée à un domaine particulier peut revêtir une plus grande importance que la cote générale attribuée au module, en fonction de l'environnement dans lequel il sera mis en oeuvre (y compris la compréhension des risques que vise le module cryptographique).

Avant d'utiliser un module cryptographique, il est recommandé de demander au fournisseur une copie de son certificat de validation en vertu des normes FIPS 140-1 ou FIPS 140-2, à titre de preuve de la validation de son module en vertu du PVMC ou, au minimum, le numéro du certificat de validation. Le numéro de version du module déployé devrait être identique à celui inscrit sur le certificat et il est possible de le confirmer en ligne.

Le site Web principal du PVMC du NIST et du CSTC est hébergé par le NIST. Il comprend des détails complets sur le programme, tous les documents et normes connexes, ainsi que les listes officielles des modules cryptographiques validés en vertu des normes FIPS 140-1 ou FIPS 140-2 et des fournisseurs en vertu des normes FIPS 140-1 ou FIPS 140-2.

Exigences en matière d'essais

Les laboratoires accrédités par le NVLAP pour l'évaluation des modules cryptographiques et de sécurité effectuent les essais de validation des modules cryptographiques. Les modules sont mis à l'essai en fonction des exigences de la norme FIPS 140-2, Exigences de sécurité relatives aux modules cryptographiques (en anglais seulement), à l'aide du document Derived Test Requirements for FIPS PUB 140-2 (en anglais seulement). Ce dernier donne aussi la liste de toutes les exigences du fournisseur et de l'évaluateur pour la validation d'un module cryptographique et constitue la base des essais effectués par les laboratoires accrédités.

FIPS 140-3

Le CSTC et le NIST ont entrepris l'examen et la refonte de la norme FIPS 140-2 pour tenir compte des technologies d'aujourd'hui, incorporer les suggestions des organismes et des fournisseurs, et mettre à jour et renforcer les exigences dans les domaines clé de la norme. La norme FIPS 140-3 devrait inclure des changements importants dans les domaines de la sécurité physique et logicielle, ainsi que dans l'assurance de la conception du module. Les découvertes dans les domaines d'attaques non invasives seront aussi reflétées dans la nouvelle norme. Enfin, la nouvelle norme mettra au point la définition ainsi que les exigences applicables aux modules logiciels.

Renseignements

Les clients du gouvernement du Canada sont priés de communiquer avec le CSTC pour obtenir des renseignements sur la configuration et l'utilisation des modules validés.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements au sujet du PVMC, prière de communiquer avec :

Services à la clientèle, Sécurité des TI
Téléphone : 613-991-7654
Courriel : itsclientservices@cse-cst.gc.ca